You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm Negative on Bitcoin

in #bitcoin6 years ago

What you've posted is something I've been thinking about the past few days. Yes, I'm carefully mining/investing, but I realized that Bitcoin -- as a transaction medium -- isn't working. You can't say that it's fulfilling its duty as a digital currency when you have 160,000+ unconfirmed transactions and those that are confirmed aren't done so for 70 - 90 hours.

I do think that (part) of its growth is due to the fact that more and more people want to "separate" their finances from their respective fiat currencies. Bitcoin -- because of its finite supply -- seems to be fitting the bill...at least for now. Still, I wasn't expecting to see Bitcoin $18,000 this soon. I, to, think it's overvalued...at least at present.

I'm not the expert in crytocurrency (yet), but I believe we really need a fork that will improve the usability and speed of Bitcoin transactions. This ongoing mess will only get worse as more money piles in. Or, as time goes on, alternate currencies will eventually rise and take Bitcoin's place.

In the meantime, I think we can both agree that we should invest carefully and take gains for now, but have an exit strategy in place if/when things turn.

I appreciate your thoughtfulness and how you separate emotion from fact. It's rare these days.

Sort:  

For now, I think it'd be best to hold off on forks and work on off-scale solutions to see if they work. If that doesn't work, or if it needs further scaling (as we are many orders of magnitude away from Visa level processing), then can start thinking about more on-chain solutions through forks. Thank you for your comment.

Thank you for taking the time to respond! I know you were saying that forks shouldn't be implemented.....so I figured you might want to see this, if you haven't already...

http://lightningbitcoin.io/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77