Tippin.me—Tips and Micro-Payments

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Tippin.me is a micro-payments app that allows one to send and receive micro-payments using Lightning Network. It has already garnered over 14,000 users and allows anyone to receive and manage tiny amounts of Bitcoins by giving you a custodial web-wallet.

Screen Shot 2019-03-08 at 5.14.27 AM.png

Lightning Network is a technology built on top of Bitcoin that provides instant micro-payments almost for free.

This was created by Sergio Abril when he was trying to find a way to enable micro-payments via Lightning Network without having to install a node specific to these needs.

Abril told BM, “I realized that micro payments could be huge with Lightning Network, but there were still some obstacles that made tipping hard. You needed to be online to get a tip, you needed to generate an invoice every time. It needed to be easier, it needed to be way simpler, and certainly something more appealing. That’s how Tippin started."

To use it you have install a browser extension and need a twitter account to login to tippin.me. Your wallet is created at tippin.me when you log-in with your Twitter name.

The browser extension makes a Lightning icon show up with your tweets. If you click it generated a QR-code which can be scanned by the new wallet. You can use tippn.me website to cash out your tips.

I didn't go all the way and test it because I'm not a big fan of installing random browser extensions on my work system-irrespective of whether they are safe or not. Just my general rule. So if you want to test it out, please visit the site here and give it a test ride.

While we're on the subject of tipping and micro-payments. Let me take a moment to remind us all that using Steem blockchain we can easily send/receive payments. They are instant (3 sec confirmations) and 100% fee-less. There's no need for any fancy 2nd layer payment protocol to speed things up here.

Steem blockchain is lightning fast from inception!


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #68

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

interesting!

Are there any merchants accepting lightning yet?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15