A Crypto for 2018 - WAVES

in #bitcoin6 years ago

It was quite a ride for Waves in 2017. It started the year at $0.25 and finished at $12.50, and at one point broke $17 in December.

I think 2018 will be another great year for Waves. Below I’ll detail why and where I’m targeting a buy.

If you’re unfamiliar with Waves then check out my previous articles here and here.

This first piece of good news is what I mentioned in my last article on Waves, the implementation of Waves-NG.

The protocol is based on Bitcoin-NG which was developed by Cornell Professor Emin Gun Sirer. The Waves-NG protocol will enable the Waves Platform to handle up to 100 transactions per second. And eventually 1,000 TPS. Not quite Visa-like levels, but per Waves, this will make it the fastest decentralized blockchain system in the world.

Since launching I’ve kept my eye on the Waves decentralized exchange. Prior to Wave-NG it was doing less than $1 million in daily trading volume. Now it’s doing over $5 million. So far so good.

While Waves-NG was a big event, there are a few others that have slipped under the radar.

One is Waves’ partnership with Tokenomica to provide a 100% compliant legal framework for token crowdsales. They recently received a green light from the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

Next up, the Waves Lab blockchain incubator got launched. This initiative will fund pre-ICO projects and teams up to $300,000. This will certainly bring more ICOs to the Waves platform.

Waves also launched a venture capital fund called the Basics Fund. It’s been done in conjunction with Placeholder Capital, the crypto hedge fund run by Joel Monegro and Chris Burniske, two big crypto names. The fund will start with $10 million and focus on blockchain infrastructure projects.

Finally, you should know that with Waves-NG out you can now lease your Waves and earn up to 5% on your balance. As use of the network grows, so will the fees collected, and hence the income too. That will help boost the WAVES price.

It should be an interesting year for Waves in 2018. I started leasing my stake and we’ll see how that goes.

I’m targeting the $7-8 range to buy more Waves. After the recent run-up I think it’ll be some time before it rallies to new highs again.

What do you think about WAVES?


For more on cryptos follow me @g-dubs and on SteemFollower

Sort:  

Great article. I think we're very much on the same page. I do think those non-turing complete smart contracts should come to the Waves blockchain asap. I can imagine that really helps boosting the number of quality ICOs on Waves.

I actually wrote an overview article about ICOs on Waves. Maybe you like it: https://steemit.com/icos/@cryptotem/upcoming-and-active-icos-on-waves-a-handy-overview-1

Let me know what you think!

I'll check it out, thanks for sharing!

I agree 100%.
Waves is one of the best projects out there. I have been investing in it since it was $3. I take every chance to buy more.

Thanks for the profile dude. WAVES has come up on my radar a few times now and for some reason I've never checked out the tech. Maybe the name? Needless to say, adding the white paper, etc. to my reading list and seeing if it fits in my pocket.

~ Kevin

^^ my thoughts exactly. i think the name doesn't come off as prime investment material at first glance, i will have to check @g-dubs other posts and learn more.

Keep me posted on your findings!

Thanks... Waves a good one to check out. Russia based so I thinks that's one of the reasons it doesn't get as much press. But they're delivering. Founder Sasha Ivanov someone to follow in crypto.

They have recently opened an office in Europe. I think that waves will start to get more attention now and this will reflect on its price.

Good to know, thanks!

Followed on Twit! Thx dude.

Well yes......Waves is one that I think we've talked about before. I think it's a good choice especially because there are a few waves specific exchanges out there like Tidex.

It should be noted though the some of these smaller exchanges charge outrageous fees.

Tidex charged me $30 to pull $100 out of my account.

Having said that...... when I see a coin that has actually got a real word use it is much more valuable to me than one that is theoretical in nature like a lot of coins today.

I just checked out Tidex the other day but didn't sign up as the volume is so low... not w WAVES but most of the other tokens. You definitely want to keep your eye on that... too much slippage!
And agreed, Waves is one performing today. Interesting to look back at what Sasha was saying in 2016 and where they are now... he and his team delivers.

Thanks for the heads up. I recently got into RaiBlocks for the quick payments use case, but I wish I came across Waves earlier. I'll have to dive into the whitepaper over the weekend and dig deep into the tech...hopefully I can understand it :)

They actually don't have much of a white paper. But check out the website, blog and anything founder Sasha Ivanov wrote about is a good start.

Will do!

I have been holding waves and i will continue holding...great platform with great room for growth

Check out leasing those WAVES to make some income ;-p

That's a great information of Cryptocurrency thanks @g-dubs

Wave will take over a huge market , 2017 was nice beginning but 2018 will even be greater year for wave , ever since ether delta was hacked waves has really picked in user growth

I definitely plan on using it more!

good post @g-dubs

How long are we looking at about for it to retest all time high of 17. And im definitely buying some if it dios to 7

I would say Q2 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70