You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: All Investors Seem To Be Running To THIS Asset Class

in #bitcoin5 years ago (edited)

re: coinmarketcap prices and when you sell your bitcoin for $3500, there’s someone else on other end buying it for 3500

One thing that has long puzzled me was the inter-relation of the trading pairs available on the various exchanges and how they would impact the rolled up prices on coinmarketcap.

As a result I learned not to trust or make decisions based on coinmarketcap other than to use the information there to help me predict what OTHERS would do. Since I mostly trade BTC pairs, CMC would give wrong information for that.

My intitial issue and question was this: let’s say I buy 100 BTC worth of LTC at a certain price, when BTC happens to be priced at $10k, with the goal of getting more bitcoin later, when the price of LTC in BTC terms goes up.

So I wait and wait. There’s a crash and cycle this and cycle that, and bitcoin crashes down to $3500 but I see that my LTC bag has gone up in BTC value. Let’s say 5% for this examples so I sell my LTC for 105 BTC

What I’m confused about - does my trade of BTC to LTC, in or out, impact the USD price? I know there’s a separate LTC market but surely the BTC supply and arbitrage angle has some impact. I don’t know how much or if it’s direct or indirect.

If I sell the LTC for 105 BTC for whatever price and BTC happens to be $3500 at the time, does that boost BTC’s USD market at all, specifically and directly?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88