Careful Paper Wallet Enthusiasts - WalletGenerator.net problem!

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I am paranoid about protection of coins

I have set up a totally offline computer and printer to protect my cryptos.

Just discovered an issue with Paper Wallet

There is a new problem... the single wallet tab produces your public and private keys - and when you switch to print the wallet... the numbers are different.

I have posted about this with github and hope to hear what is what?

As I am still pretty new to this paper wallet use, I am looking for anyone who has information and/or more knowledge to comment. Have used walletgenerator.net through github and it has worked fine for me in the last few months, but worried about these numbers.

Not The Phishing Site Issue

Please note this has nothing to do with the previous issue of a phishing site back in January, 2018 - this is a new issue. However, always good to be aware of these things... use walletgenerator.net...download the zip file from github. There was a site walletgenerator.org stealing people's cryptos. This site was caught, but always keep your eyes open.

The new issue is that you might save your public and private keys from the single wallet tab... and then go to the wallet tab to print out for safety. However, for some reason the numbers are different.

I am pretty sure that as long as you save the addresses from the one you print out - probably safe, but just wondered if others might give their opinion.

I decided to use paper wallets...

Some folks might ask why are you using paper wallets? Don't you know about Trezor, Nano, Keepkey etc.?

Yes I do, but I bought a very expensive Keep Key offline cold storage wallet and had troubles with this wallet. I then decided that I should have a record of my public and private keys that I hold myself. This is when I decided to do it the old fashioned way... lol

Please comment if you have experienced this glitch... I am afraid others are not going to spot this!

I almost didn't and would have lost my coins.

Thanks

Logo-Steemit@GranBlock copy.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @granblock! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62