EARLY ADOPTERS HAVE ALL THE FUNsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

bitcoin-2546751_960_720.png

I was thinking about the term “early adopter” the other day. Being an early bird in any venture is a thrilling experience. Think about it, some random thing grabs your attention, and all of the sudden you are hooked to the point you don’t even care that it’s not even that great at the moment, you just look at the idea and your head goes “poof”. You can’t wait to get it. You can’t wait to use it.

Looking back growing up in México I was the early adopter compared to my schoolmates and friends. My tech geek dad loved taking us kids and mom to a certain US city in Christmas and we would always shop for the newest video game console, the trendiest clothes and the American consumer experience.

I would set trends coming back home to school. Showing up with my low-cut socks in 3rd grade like Whaaa... First, everyone was like, “What the fuck dork? Where are your socks? Ha-ha.” Only they would say it in Spanish, “Que pedo joto? Donde estan tus calcetines? Ja-ja” I was like “It looks cool and you the dork.. Puto”. Now of course at some point I would look down at my feet thinking “Is it normal for my legs to show like this? This looks odd” and even though I doubted it for a minute and a half, I still liked them and wore them. A month later everybody had them! Turns out I wasn’t the only kid going shopping to the U.S. in a time period when one dollar cost only three pesos.

Think about Bitcoin’s early adopters. They were probably just having fun, thinking it was the next cool thing. They could not have possibly be in it for the money as much as I was into low-cut socks to get laid in the third grade. I was just doing my thing. Having some fun and setting trends. Getting called a dork in the process.

Every early Bitcoin adopter most definitely deserves their share of riches from their investment. They are resilient and thorough early adopters and investors. They had to be. Imagine a 45-year old parent teaching her 13-year old kid some cryptography and mining Bitcoin in 2012. What kind of socks was that kid wearing?

You and me are early adopters. The question is. Are we having fun? I’m going to go with yes. This is by far the most thrilling experience in my life. Comparable to some of my other early adoption such as online dating. That’s right, as soon as I had internet at 13 years old I used it to meet girls. “I have a cyber girlfriend” I would tell my friends. “What is that?" They would ask. "It's a girlfriend that I date on the internet." Then they would ask, "What does she look like?” I'd have to be truthful, “I have no idea.”

I use Bitcoin whenever possible, it’s fun for me to send it and receive it. Another thing that has been fun in this journey has been watching some titans of the banking industry show their true colors. Their desperation with this disruptive technology is like music to my ears, and their unsupported arguments against this beautiful space are downright hilarious. Being this early too, has been super fun with all the shitty scams out there and all the things that don’t work yet. It’s like playing detective in a crazy new world where we can gamble our money chasing a dream that is sure to come true. Bitcoin is my favorite pastime.

Because I am in it for the fun and the idea, Bitcoin tanking or going to the moon takes a backseat in my interests. What I really care about is finding new ways to use Bitcoin and seizing every possible opportunity to share it.

What about you?

I ‘d really like to know. How are you having fun with this new innovative technology?

The journey begins with you,

Gueco

Love is better shared in BTC

13TEgj3bhySyTXspnnsuUhWPKoZHJGzCZF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73