You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Manipulation & Trading Bots

in #bitcoin6 years ago

We need efficient decentralised exchanges to prevent market manipulation by bots.

Sort:  

We need to get the bots on Steemit under control first!

For one, I am EXTREMELY surprised decentralized exchanges aren't more popular. I mean, WTF, with the negative history of centralized markets in mind and the fact that you run the risk of losing all your money on every centralized exchange you put money onto, what could possibly be more attractive than exchanges where you own your own keys? Why aren't they flourishing already?

Please someone explain

Decentralised exchanges can't handle as many transactions/second as centralised ones at the moment.


Here is the CEO of Binance explaining his view of the company. He ultimately would want to become a DEx but as of right now it is not possible to manage the kind of volumes Binance deals with daily.

Oh, I see! Darn it. Yeah, I imagined the problem was something like that. I'm not a programmer, neither am I up to speed about the technicalities behinds things like DEXs. I hope they solve it, and soon! Because we have the government climbing up our legs here.

Yes, but please take a look at RadarRelay. I discovered it recently and it's absolutely brilliant: the concept of "modular exchange". Basically, everybody holds crypto in their hardware wallet and only the order matching is done centrally; with many alternative matchers possible. Then the actual exchange happens wallet to wallet directly!!!

Interesting, I'll look at this exchange.

BitShare DEX can handle all Binance's volume and more without problems...

I'm all for decentralization but that's not necessarily the answer here.

What we need are exchanges that are open source and therefore publicly audit-able to prevent such blatant manipulation of the markets through shoddy engineering.

Decentralized exchanges also allow API programming. I guess they can enforce stricter rules to prevent market manipulation... and mempool spamming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80