You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin All Time High Hit - 6300$!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hey @kingscrown, or anyone else who feels qualified to answer, do you happen to know the specifics of how the Segwit 2X hard-fork is going to work in relation to the current bitcoin chains that are already out there?

If I understand it correctly, as long as I'm "staked" on the legacy bitcoin chain and hold my own private keys, then I always have the ability to go back to the moment of the fork and claim all of the bitcoin that I had at the time of that fork. Is that correct to your knowledge?

I'm not clear yet on whether I'll have stake in the Segwit 2X chain if all of my bitcoin is still only on the legacy chain, or if I have to split them into the Segwit chain in order to receive Segwit 2X when it forks in mid November.

I currently hold most of my bitcoin on a Trezor and have kept them all on the legacy chain. It gives me the option to send them to the Segwit chain and that's what got me thinking about whether I'm really prepared for this next fork, especially after I've read from a few sources that Segwit 2X won't have two-way replay protection, similar to Bitcoin Gold which Trezor doesn't currently support and has stated that they won't support unless they add that replay protection feature.

Sort:  

if the chains split you will have same BTC on both chains, just like with BCC/BCH

I think it is not absolute. What if the wallet in which you are storing your Bitcoins does not support the SegWit2x?

Keep private keys and you will be fine

Ok, so is the first Segwit fork that just happened (what was it... a month back?) going to remain it's own chain, seperate from Segwit 2X?

So we'll have, in total (not including earlier forks like litecoin): legacy bitcoin, bitcoin cash, bitcoin gold, Segwit and Segwit 2X. Is that correct?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67