Today, $10,000 Disappeared From My Exodus Wallet!!

in #bitcoin6 years ago

exodus steem2.png

Hi everyone. So this has not been such a great day...

About a week ago I exchanged a thousand dollars of Bitcoin for Bitcoin Cash to try and catch a short rally. I used the built in Shapeshift on the Exodus wallet (though I should have known better at this point).

Well, a week later I still haven't gotten that transaction and about 5 days ago I contacted Shapeshift about the problem. Shapeshift told me there was nothing they could do and to refresh my Bitcoin on Exodus. So I did...

After refreshing, my Bitcoin in that particular wallet dropped from more than $15,000 to $5,000. I'm infuriated.

That was Bitcoin I placed fair and square in my account from online exchanges. It just disappeared and I've reloaded the program a few dozen times and tried to update it with no luck at all. It's gone.

It's not in my transactions, there's no history of it leaving my wallet. It's no where.

When I go to Exodus support they only have a previously asked question page and no where to manually type out a problem to them.

What is going on? What happened?

Can anyone give my any explanation for this.

Myself being in independent media, I depend on that money and just like that, 10 grand disappeared.

Thanks for any help you can give!

Sort:  

Hey there, I've had the issue of transactions taking longer than they should, but Exodus did warn you that Bitcoin exchanges were going to take a while! (Remember when the Bitcoin Wars happened?)

But your money is fine, it's just not displayed on Exodus because the transaction was submitted (but not yet approved). The thing about the blockchain is that whatever's executed to it, WILL be done. Sorry that it'll take some time though, but your money isn't lost.

This has nothing to do with a transaction. Sure, $1000 has not been received yet after a week, but I never made a transaction with the $10,000. It literally just disappeared before my eyes without any record of a transaction.

I wonder if this is just a bug where it is not correctly parsing your addresses from your account.
Never used that wallet but if you have a seed or can get hold of your XPUB you can use it to generate the addresses somewhere else and check them manually (just be careful not to use your seed on something dodgy as to would be able to generate the private keys for your wallet; XPUB is not so bad as it will only generate the public addresses associated with that HD wallet - there is a privacy concern there but a dodgy service cannot steal your BTC)

You could also try to track the TX's from your exchange wallets but it will be hard to recognise which transactions make up the $10,000 you are missing unless you only had a few bigger transactions

Good luck man really hope you get it sorted out.

Post this on Reddit /(subreddit) /exodos if there is one. I did similar for Coinomi and had it resolved within hours.

Are you using something like this spreadsheet to keep track of all your cryptocurrency transactions? With the blockchain, you are your own bank. You have to keep track of everything you do or it will be lost forever. That includes keeping track of which addresses you're sending money to and from which addresses you're sending money from.

There's a chance your funds are safe unless you actually got hacked. If you know which bitcoin and bitcoin cash addresses you've interacted with in the past, you can use a block explorer like https://blockchain.info/ or https://blockchair.com/bitcoin-cash/blocks to track everything and know exactly where your funds are. Better yet, if you send a transaction off, it's a really good idea to keep track of the transaction id so you can monitor it yourself on the blockchain to see if it cleared or if it's still pending.

I put some videos together a while back to try and help people understand cryptocurrency more at http://understandingblockchainfreedom.com They are not super high quality, but I'm learning and you may find them beneficial.

Thanks for this info @lukestokes! This is very helpful so I had to bring it to the top of the comments! I hope he can find the Bitcoin!

Thank you and you're welcome. :)

oh, and don't put the eggs on the bottom of the bag this time boy!

That's the issue though, I didn't send any money out. I sent $1000 out a week ago and never received it, but this is $10,000 that just disappeared and there's no transaction history of it leaving my account. I refreshed my Bitcoin in Exodus and it just disappeared. If this had to do with a transaction, it would be easier to figure out, but there was none. It was there one second and gone the next as if I never had it to begin with.

I appreciate the comment though!

Do you know all of the addresses you've used? It should all be there on the blockchain explorers I linked to. Exodus is just a program, it's not the blockchain. It talks to API servers the Exodus company provides and if those servers are out of sync or the software isn't properly keeping track of the addresses you've interacted with, that could cause the problem you're seeing. The blockchain is truth, everything is an interpretation. So if you know which addresses you've used, I suggest checking the blockchain history on those addresses to see where the money is. If you see a transaction out from an address you controlled at the time your money disappeared, it's possible your computer has been infected and you were hacked. If the funds are still there, then it's just a problem with Exodus interpreting the blockchain data, not with the funds themselves.

Important question: do you have an export of your private keys or some form of backup you could restore on a different computer?

I can't imagine it's been hacked. One would think they'd take all of my money if they were to hack me, not just $10,000. But I just refreshed my Bitcoin again and it gave me back 5k that was lost, but then immediately, a transaction came up by itself saying I sent 1k to some unknown address.
This is really confusing and I think Exodus is glitching out really badly right now. I've been using it for a long time and never seen anything like this.

I do have an export of my private keys and can try checking it on another computer. I'll try that shortly.

This is too weird.

I'd start with just checking your public address balances on the block explorers. The blockchain is truth, not whatever Exodus happens to display. You'll probably be fine. What you may be seeing is the balances of your addresses based on a API server that is currently doing a blockchain reply and hasn't yet caught up with "today."

I sympathize with what you're going through Josh. I hope you'll be able to recover your funds.

Yes, very helpful. Thank you @lukestokes :)

Wow. I was getting ready to use Exodus wallet too. I guess now I’ll hold off and see what this is all about. Sorry to hear. Hope it can be recovered.

Ok, I don't trade bitcoin but I think this is a kind of problem that should be resteemed

Agreed. At the very least, people need to be warned.

yes, at least. and hopefully you will all get the right answer

This is a horror scenario and I must say you are admirably calm about this. I have used the Exodus conversion feature myself. After such a length of time surely something is wrong. Are you on windows? It's strange there's no history of it leaving the wallet. Usually the exchange feature has a log. Suggests this may be a bug rather than a hack. I can't suggest anything I'm sorry as I've not seen this issue before but very keen to hear more about it. Resteeming in the hope someone can help you!

Sorry for your lose. I do not know exodus wallet but can you use the last exchange transaction as your evidence to exodus regarding how much bitcoin should be in the wallet? That $10k amount from exchange to exodus should be on record no? And then by showing how much it is presently in the wallet. They are not balanced. Also maybe review the blockchain of that last transaction and see if any other balances moved out or in the wallet address after?

Are your serious? It's stories like these that scare the crap out of me about cryptos

don't be scared, just keep track of everything and you'll be fine :)

Exodus has had a really good reputation. This is very interesting.
did you try [email protected] or their team on slack?

Was your initial trade for 1k or 10k? Above it is written you made a trade of 1k BTC for BCH and it never came through. And then 10k went missing. This doesn't add up.

Regardless,
Steps you can take to investigate:

Export your private keys from exodus and restore using a different wallet. see http://support.exodus.io/article/86-how-can-i-view-my-private-keys

Locate your btc address in exodus and look it up on https://blockchain.info/ - follow the token trail. (inputs & outputs)

Blockchain assets don't just disappear.
Unless you get hacked and your logins and passwords are compromised.

That's really crappy to say the least. I did have some issues some time ago when it wouldn't confirm for over a week, but you are saying it was in the wallet one day and disappeared the next that's weird. Funny enough, someone at exodus solved the issue for me within minutes, even though I wasn't even dealing with them. Their support email is:
[email protected]
maybe that will get you somewhere?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69