Trezor/Ledger Nano Wants You to Pay 500USD Fee for Sending 1 BTC, Blocks Full, Transactions Stuck

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Due to mempool stuck size loads of transactions with usual fees are stuck. Trezor checks fees on the fly and has few options to send.

Articles of mine explaining mempool and fees on the end of this post.

Do not use predefined fees of Trezor or you will pay loads - for no reason.

First i saw user on twitter that noticed it

Then i runned some tests with @thisisbenbrick on Ledger Nano




Current Suggested Bitcoin Fees

Current Unconfirmed Transactions

My previous texts connected to this:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@kingscrown/bitcoin-suggested-tx-over-1-usd-mempool-full-money-stuck-no-problems-of-this-kind-on-steem
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@kingscrown/want-to-save-up-on-fees-while-sending-btc-try-this-guide

Follow, Resteem and VOTE UP @kingscrown creator of http://fuk.io blog for 0day cryptocurrency news and tips!

Sort:  

Bitcoin is such trash.

STEEM has 3 second block times and no fees.

Bitcoin feels like using one of these in comparison:

Dont we miss those?

remember them very well.....state of the art back then....and a phone call to the bank in some cases...LOL...what an oldtimer......

lol - yeah what trash, only 30billion market cap..... #facepalm
Everyone who say that has simple no idea of that whole ecosystem.

Kind of a weird thing to say @bacchist Reminds me of the headless Android vs IOS bickering just way way stupider. There are so so many aspects here. Entitled to his opinion of course.

That is crazy.

They should have option for Litecoin payments though. :)

the BTC fee right now with exodus wallet is wanting to use 9$ fee to send $5 in the current state BTC is broken

Thanks for the information. Generally, I don't hold bitcoins. I just use them as gateway to other coins. This extortion by Trezor and Nano Ledger is uncalled for. I'm glad that I use exodus wallet,although I know that Trezor and Nano Ledger are the best away from one's computer. Maybe we should go back to using paper wallets.

how would you use a paper wallet?

Well, you may generate wallets from some sites like https://bitcoinpaperwallet.com/ . It will generate a public and private key for you. You can then begin to perform transactions from there. Note: No one must have access to your private key except you. Only show your public key to accept bitcoins. Regarding, the link I just gave you, please check that it is reliable. There are too many scammers these days.

very good alternative.....have to think about it,cos the same happened to me today......those fees in BTC transactions are ridiculous...thxs for reminding me about the paper options...

thank you!

so, if i want to receive BTC, i show my "public" key to the sender?
and, if i want to send BTC, i show my "private" key to the recipient?

correct?

The first sentence is correct, but the second is not. If you want to send BTC you use your private key, not showing it to the recipient. Your ''private key'' enable you to send BTC , without which you cannot send. The recipient or any other person MUST NEVER see your private key.

the question is, since we are using a paper wallet, how do i send it to him? this is where i am confused.

is a paper wallet a one time use?

I see. The paper wallet serves as a way you keep your information away from your PC. However, as soon as you generate your address that is on the paper wallet, it is registered on the blockchain . When you are ready to send bitcoins for any reason, you will have to go online. Those who use hardware wallets like Trezor must also go online to be able to send bitcoins. The paper wallet is not a one time use. You can use it forever. The challenge there is that anyone can monitor your public key, if you keep using the same public key. To prevent that you may decide to use https://blockchain.info/wallet/#/login . On blockchain.info, you can generate a new public key for every new transaction. In addition to exodus wallet, I also use blockchain.info . Personally, I've not had any reason to use paper wallets. I only know they exist and have a good idea on how to use them. I could do a video for you and other interested newbies on how to use blockchain.info . How about that?

thank you. i need to wrap my head around this.

never show your private key

NEVER!!!! You only need the address (public key) for receiving. If you are sending you just send from your wallet to the receivers address.

Please send me your private key and ill ahem check it for errors for free!

This is a reliable website https://www.bitcoin.com/promoted-wallets

..and i just bought Nano Ledger S.. this crazy!

Keep cash there but dont send right now :)

OMG! I also noticed a little bit of increased fee with my exodus wallet.

Never heard of trezor, wow, this is insane !

It's because you guys are new that's why you've never heard of trezor of Nano Ledger.

yeah, probably, but now I did :P

Good. A very warm welcome to steemit and thanks for the follow.

Actually, I wasn't following you, but now I did :P
anyway, thank you so much for welcoming me to steemit :)

Oh I'm sorry. I realized that someone just followed me, so I thought it was you.

it's okay, I have followed you now,
thank you!

It's my pleasure. I just followed you back too. Cheers.

Sent 0.25 btc today out of my Trezor about an hour ago, paid $1.25, and it was at the exchange in 10 minutes. I'm not sure where this FUD is coming from, I simply don't experience it when using bitcoin everyday. IMO if I had to send money using a bank I would incur more fees and it would take a lot longer than 10 minutes.

FUD? Do you see 208 000+ unconfirmed transactions? Network is hiccuping on 40k. This is over 5 times more

Right, but how much of those transactions are garbage micro transactions? Like I said I have been using BTC everyday multiple times a day to move money, and I haven't had any slow transactions as long as I pay $0.65-$1.50 in fees. Then again I don't send micro transactions.

I always though it was FUD about bitcoin getting stuck, but today is my first experience seeing a txn to me getting 0 comfirmations all day. It dosent happen often for a light user but in general its unnaceptable.

The Airbitz wallet does a good job of setting tx fees. I pay my hosting with it

Feels like a Nigerian scam to me. Please send 1 btc into our account and we'll deposit $20000 within 5 days :)

How long does the standard take?

Yeah I think the low fee option would go faster.

This is not the fault of Trezor this is the fault of the Bitcoin blocks being full...

I figured, the backlog is exploding.

Bitcoin is a joke, people thought the scarcity came from the 21M hard limit but it actually comes for the fact that you can't send it anywhere with reasonable time/cost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71075.24
ETH 3829.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44