You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Regarding the crash in BTC yesterday, did somebody know something?

in #bitcoin6 years ago

The coinbase situation doesn't affect everyone trading more than $20k on coinbase, it is specific to those users trading above $20k between 2013 - 2015. Only about 14,000 accounts will be disclosed. Doubtful that this was the cause, especially since it is actually more of a victory for coinbase than loss when you think the IRS initially wanted access to every account that traded between 2013 and 2015.

Sort:  

Yes good points. I didn't go into the exact details in my post, but left the link up there for anyone that wanted to dive in. I did read that Coinbase felt it was a partial win for them, though I am not sure I would go that far. I don't think they were ever in danger of having to turn over ALL records... but maybe that is just me being optimistic. :)

Thanks for pointing these points out though!

Figured I would help out those too lazy to click the link ;)

Yeah, the IRS trying to get access to every account was a BIG reach for sure. If the courts allowed that to happen they would have opened up a huge mess for every single exchange, crypto or fiat, in the US.

Personally I think this could be a big move in furthering the legitimacy of Crypto in the eyes of everyday people. At some point regulation is going to catch up and I think it is going to give a lot of people that are wary of crypto a better feeling that this is a legitimate asset class.

Yep, my thoughts exactly as well. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62539.74
ETH 3201.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81