Sort:  

That's an amazing story! How much bitcoin do you think was on that drive? I can just imagine you scanning that drive for hours.... good luck!

To be honest I don't remember how many bitcoins were on it.
Just thought it was an interesting idea at the time.

It wasn't until about three years ago that I remembered about them at all and then wondered if they could be recovered?
I lost contact with the guy that bought the computer so I assume he has no clue they may be sitting on the old hard drive. :-)

Will steem reach the same value at her 10?

Posted using Partiko Android

Once people understand what Steem can actually do. It will not take 10 years.

Not many people knew what to do with Bitcoin for the first 5 years. Now we have at least some people that understand that blockchains are the future of just about every area of life that requires zero trust.

Steem is a good contender for mass adoption. Bitcoin still has first mover advantage but as people become aware of alternative options this may change.

STEEM is the first social media project in blockchain technology and will probably be with him as with Bitcoin: in his field he will always be king first.

This is also very true. Steem does have first mover advantage and as we build out SMT's into other websites more and more people will become aware that they really should be getting paid for their contributions to these old web 2 platforms. @astromaniac

An informative essay. Do you have any way to track what happened to your computer after you sold it?

Nope it was back in Christmas time 2010-11 and I lost touch with the guy who bought the computer. Shame he could be sitting on a pile of bitcoins lol

Well, the Internet is a far-reaching tool. You might be able to track the guy.

My bitcoin story pretty much begins here with Steemit and I still have a lot to learn.

I do hope you find your missing bitcoins and that they were not sold with the computer.

They may turn up one day but in the meantime I have bought plenty more lol Everyone has to lose something sometime in crypto. It's almost an unwritten law. :-)

My bitcoin story pretty much begins here with Steemit and I still have a lot to learn.

At least you are learning which puts you ahead of the pack who have no clue about it at all.
Keep learning. Deb.

The mother of all coins. It is good that is in 10 years now

It sure has been an expereince. 10 years in crypto is a very long time indeed. Congrats to Bitcoin.

I was just about to send a message to you @molometer to check you were OK as you haven't been around for a while.

What an interesting post. I've heard a few stories now of people who were given bitcoin in the early days and got rid of their computers. A bit like losing a winning lottery ticket.

It's interesting to see that graph. Those that bought in the early days must have had a lot of nerve. 😁

Hi Gillian, I have been down with a severe case of 'Man flu'. Very painful lol but I'm fine now. Thanks for asking.

It's interesting to see that graph. Those that bought in the early days must have had a lot of nerve. 😁

Either that or a lot of faith. Either way it has paid of big time for the hodlers.

I remember hearing about when it was $25
But I didn't have an extra dime at the time to invest in something so "experimental".

But, Steem to the Moon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95