A glimpse into Bitcoin in Japan

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)


We all know that Japan is pretty accepting towards new technology and willing to try. I believe the first time I saw bitcoin acceptance at stores was about 1-2 years back..

I recall Bic Camera as being one of the first large companies to accept BTC and I saw it being used, in person, on my earlier trip to Japan last year.

 


bitcoin poster in Bic Camera

 

I did not see anyone using it today in this Bic Camera, but the posters are still up on the wall to inform customers of such an option. The provider of the service seems to have changed though. I am however, curious about tourist tax-free rate regarding BTC payment for goods.

Here are some photos and snippets of Bitcoin prevalance in Osaka! Take a Look!

 


 

I saw a Gachapon machine along the streets and decided to try my luck at it. I was indifferent to whichever coin I could get though. There is the bronze, silver and gold. Not sure which is more 'limited edition' but I got the gold bitCoin!


coin in a gachapon capsule

 


 


 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://seanytan.vornix.blog/2018/07/10/a-glimpse-into-bitcoin-in-japan/

Sort:  

Such a cool collection to have!

need to have steemit coin to win at gachapon too!!

Fun to watch Bitcoin spread. Cool coin!

if only the coin itself is valued at 1 btc hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00