Busineses May Dump Bitcoin as a Usable Currency

in #bitcoin6 years ago

"Steam" (not to be confused with Steemit) no longer accepts Bitcoin. Then Microsoft stopped accepting Bitcoin, but started accepting it again. Now Stripe gave up on Bitcoin.

Not accepting.jpg

"Stripe handles payments for more than 100,000 businesses, including Warby Parker and OpenTable. The company announced Tuesday afternoon that it would stop processing bitcoin transactions on April 23 due to slower transaction rates and high fees"

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/01/24/stellar-jumps-20-percent-after-stripe-says-it-may-add-support-for-the-digital-coin.html

Looks like there is an interest for cryptocurrency, just not Bitcoin due to fees and transaction time.

Which altcoin do you think will dominate the future market and why?

Sort:  

Not surprise with the fee like there are now... :D

Fees are so bad that I convert to Litecoin to make a transaction and then convert back to bitcoin to use as a trading pair.

The fees is the big problem of the BTC and not only that the time to wait for the confirmation makes it impossible to use it in common buying and selling operations

Maybe the Bitcoin Lightning Network solves that problem but we will have to wait for its implementation.

Personally I am using Steem, ETH and monero for my daily operations

Lol, XD

Thanks for the important update.. 👍

My pleasure

STEEM! because steemit.com is awesome and creates a marketplace and economy for the currency and it is fast and free, what else do you want?

yeah...you are right...you create a great post....i like it... your thinking is great....you will running create this type posting....i waiting for your next post..

My pleasure @alex-linda Thanks for coming back.

welcome brother...

bitcoin is future

I think that bitcoin may be loosing its grip.

yes... i agree with your word... because i think it is right think... carry on....

Thanks for reading. More to come.

I don't know much about cryptocurrency but this sounds like bad news for people who have bitcoins. What do they do with the bitcoins Now? Anyway, I think steem should be the next altcoin that'll dominate the future market; I hope so though. Thanks for the info by the way

I don't know if it will influence Bitcoin price as bitcoin is not really used that often for commerce anyway. It is mainly used as a trading pair against other currencies. That is where it dominates. You can't always trade one altcoin for anther altcoin, but you can always trade an altcoin for bitcoin.

Either ETH or Litecoin. Maybe another smaller coin like EOS will rise to prominence with technology accelerating at the rate it is currently. But Bitcoin is being viewed more as a method of asset storage than a currency. I can see Ripple being used widely among financial institutions and might extend to the retail sector but only time will tell. I hope I am hodling the coin that does replace bitcoin though!

I think EOS has potential as well. I think the key is what coin is maid available on any exchange to pair with. For That ETH and LTC already have a stronghold. I also think that the same reason Bitcoin is the dominate trading pair is the only reason Bitcoin remained strong.

lucky for me I haven't heard of any of those things but Microsoft, who accepts bitcoin

I haven't used them. Probably doesn't matter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77