You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Bitcoin Is Soaring: Goldman-Backed Circle Buys Crypto Exchange Poloniex

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I am not sure what to think about this.

It is interesting to note how Goldman got into the crypto game. For all the publicity that Dimon got and the back and forth of JPM, Goldman was very non commital through it all. Yet here we see them backdoor their way into cryptocurrency.

They are now an exchange. Goldman, an institution, is in the game just like they are with stocks, forex, bonds, mbs, and whatever else they sell. How will this change things moving forward?

My sense is this will open things up a bit for the larger players. Goldman will push to have them allowed in. That said, my feeling is we need to have more decentralization.

Goldman and the other major banks are already too powerful. I dont think this move is one to control crypto...Goldman simply sees the trading fees.

And yes I do know this is a Circle deal but we know Goldman was heavily involved...in fact I bet that is where most of the $400M came from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81