I claimed my Bitcoin cash (I think?)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

So I am definitely not a Pro but I suppose I know enough to be dangerous and possibly lose all of my Bitcoin.  When I heard of the Bitcoin Fork (BIP91, Segwit, Segwit2x, IDFK) I heeded the many warnings and moved my BTC to cold storage.  Finally feeling as though the dust has settled I decided I should put my BTC back to work but first I had to move it out of my paper wallet.  So from what I read online (aka I don't know what the fuck I am doing) I needed to move my BTC out of my paper wallet and then in short order claim my Bitcoin Cash BCH (does BCH look like Bitch to anyone else?) So I used my Jaxx wallet to export my paper wallet and BOOM! there it was easy peasy!  I decided to check   the blockchain and yes the wallet is empty CONFIRMED.  I then decided to check my Jaxx wallet address on the blockchain and 0 yes ZERO BTC = FML

I could see a balance in my Jaxx wallet so I decided to try to transfer some out and BOOM! IT went through my BTC wasn't gone 

Now onto BCH.  I downloaded the Electron Wallet punched in my Private Key and Voila!

Plenty of how to's out there so I have spared the details I just wanted to share a bit on my emotional roller coaster today. Hit me up if you have any questions, not an expert so insert universal disclaimer here http://kith.org/jimmosk/disclaimer2.html 



Sort:  

I kept mine in my Trezor which had a decent guide on claiming BCH but I had to upgrade my firmware in order to claim. Whilst this has always been a seemless Exercise, it always fills me with dread as it could go wrong and corrupt the device. Yes I have paper deterministic recovery keys but it still scares me.

However, it was completely seamless with no issues. The device upgraded, the splitting tool worked fine and now I have my BCH in my Trezor, separated from my BTC.

(And I completely agree with you regarding BCH- could have been a better sounding name).

Great! I cleimit my bitcion
Thank you goo

I'll have questions a little later! Thanks! Up-Voted and Followed!

Congratulations @tenfourgoodbuddy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tenfourgoodbuddy! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71