Sort:  

Thanks for the interesting facts about the crypto mining installation! I had heard about these sorts of places, but I was surprised to see one in Canada, I would have thought the power prices to be too high.

PS: I also thought the name of the town was too crazy to be true....Medicine Hat?

I have featured you and this post for a curation contest (LOL, not that you need the help!) here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@bengy/payitforwardentry-week29-aobu4hh85o

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-29-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-1a7250a1a8497est

wow, very informative and I like your writing style...a journalist that actually is a pleasure to read :)

Hi @theexaminedlife. I admit prior to joining Steemit I was completely clueless when it came to crypto. I understand more and the purpose of a facility like this, but I am still pretty dense LOL. This is a great write up that even someone like me understood it. Great work.

As you know @bengy featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

That is fascinating! I had no idea.... I was picturing the six rigs housed on a friend's balcony in downtown Toronto kind of scenario! I guess that all rather proves that the future is now!

I had no idea that there was something like a crypto mining facility. I should probably be a little bit more interested in this topic now :) Thank you for teaching me something new! :)

Great info. I never imagined the mining taking so much space.
I found your post because you were featured by @bengy in this weeks pay it forward curation contest.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for sharing us the fact about the cryptomining site.. I thought it was something smaller but it is huge almost as the metal mining though.. except for it is not underground, right😯 whoaa.. that's really cool @theexaminedlife. Hope that your report would considered as the most valuable on in journalism history.. I think this is the first article I have read about the real cryptomining so far.. Thank you so much.

Found your post through @bengy entry post in the #payitforward contest this week

I did not realize that a crypto mining facility need that big, or wide, and has to be in a "remote" site. I thought the IT infrastructure can just be built up in a commercial building. I am a newbie in crypto so I wonder, any reason why that facility is not in a central business district?

I came across your post through @bengy who featured it for the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. You too can join the contest.

They want to be close to the power generator so they can make the most efficient use of electricity! (the farther the power has to travel the more of it gets wasted.) Their power feeds directly from the generator which is right beside the site.

I see. Now that makes more sense. Thanks for the clarification.

Wow! That's some serious power! Thanks for the tour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58