You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quinlan & Associates Predict 2018 Bitcoin Crash

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

I literally said much the same thing to my cousin who had just bought BTC before the crash in early December. I had just learned about Hashgraph and sold all my non-steemit crypto related assets.

Forget HODL. I sold for a profit. Unfortunately my cousin bought near the very top and now is hoping for a rebound.

I don't know if BTC will rebound or not, but if it does, it is doing so for pure speculative reasons, not intrinsic value reasons.

As a side note, don't you know on a crypto platform you get far more UPvotes for posts such as:

BTC/ Steemit $30,000!!!

Sort:  

As a side note, don't you know on a crypto platform you get far more UPvotes for posts such as: BTC/ Steemit $30,000!!!

Wiser words have never been spoken.

I'm not sure if Hashgraph is going to kill crypto. It's still got some major issues to deal with in terms of security (Sybil) and it's looking more and more that Swirlds is going to make their money on licensing, which will prevent it from gaining much traction by the developers who are so eagerly into crypto. Part of the reason that cryptos have been so successful is because any developer can build on the blockchain.

Also... People are asking about a Hashgraph ICO! That's extremely scary. People are literally asking for a blockchain-based currency for a technology that doesn't use blockchain. So they want Hashgraph to just create a random crypto and issue it as an ICO, even though that crypto would serve no purpose and hold no value in the Hashgraph network? It's a clear indication that a ton of potential investors have no idea what they're actually investing in.

True enough, but then is Ripple or Iota tokens that much different?

People just want to throw money at the next big thing in my opinion.

To be clear, I don't think Hashgraph will kill blockchain, I just don't believe in blockchain in terms of a currency use case. I'm sure it will do great in lots of other areas due to it's popularity.

There's lots of examples of superior tech that doesn't get adopted, and the tokens/ ico's are a big reason blockchain has become so popular. What ends up happening is anyone's guess!

But I will give you my guess: A lot of people will lose a lot of money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67296.35
ETH 3777.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57