What is the best wallet for Bitcoin?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

This is my first post, so please be kind. Future posts will range from cryptocurrency to Oriental Medicine to religion and philosophy to investing . . . Some will be what I have learnt over the years and some will be asking questions.

I have recently returned to the cryptocurrency marketplace and have been looking over the options regarding where to store my bitcoin and other crypto's For this article, I will just address the bitcoin wallets and we can discuss the other currencies at another time. Just to let you know upfront, I will not be telling you what is best. I will just be addressing issues that I see in choosing and am even asking for advice based on some of the functions I am looking for.
I am dealing with small amounts of bitcoin at this point and have been looking at coinbase, uphold, Jaxx, bitpay, electrum, blockchain and exodus for a start and here are my issues with different wallets.

  1. I would like a wallet where I can use my Fiat currency to buy directly in the wallet. In my case, it is in US Dollars. This feature is available in coinbase and uphold. (Blockchain only links in Europe)
  2. I would like a wallet to be able to hold small transactions without penalty. This way I can make regular small deposits from Genesis Mining or other mining operations without penalty. As an example, Bitpay Treats each deposit as a separate transaction, so when I try to use my BTC, the fees sometimes make the transaction impossible or the fee becomes ridiculous.
  3. I want my wallet to be able to work on my desktop and on my android. This eliminates exodus. If I use an exchange, exchanges like poloniex require 3rd party apps on the android and I am not sure which ones I can trust there.
  4. Anonymity would be nice but conflicts with my next feature I would like.
  5. an attached credit card would be nice. Currently, bitpay has this (but I do not like that I can access many of the deposits because of the way they handle them) and coinbase has the Shift Card that attaches to the account.
  6. Lets not forget security . . .

These are issues with a wallet that I think everyone has to at least be aware of. Some will be more important to you than others and some fo the issues I have listed might be insignificant to some of you also.
I would love to hear your thoughts on this to help me decide which wallet or wallets would work best for you and me.

Sort:  

Hi @thevitalsourse and welcome to Steemit. Great first post. I use Xapo as wallet and it covers most if not all you requirements. I'm in Europe though but it allows USD purchase too. Have a look.

I have used Xapo in the past. They do not make the Credit Cards available in the US yet. I applied for one a few years ago and it still is pending.
It is an excellent wallet, but I did have a problem with my deposits from Genesis mining creating higher fees than I wanted to transfer the funds. It was my first experience with a wallet that had my BTC that I could not access. Eventually I got my BTC out and they might have fixed the problem since then. I will take another look at it. It is still on my phone and computer.

Congratulations @thevitalsource! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78