**ALERT! Fake ShapeShift site Stole my crypto! Ethereum, Bitcoin, Litecoin.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

download.jpg

I got scammed this morning on a fake ShapeShift site. I started by googling ShapeShift and entered what I thought was the real site. I was excited to turn a little Ethereum into some Digibyte and got suspicious when I didn't receive my Digibyte. I contacted Shapeshift support and this is what they told me,

"Hi there,
After looking at the full URL Order ID page you provided, it appears there are misspellings. It looks like you are the victim of a phishing scam.

We are so sorry you lost your coin. We are doing everything in our power to get this site taken down. You may want to search Reddit and other forums to see if anyone else has been a victim and if they are planning any sort of action against these scammers.

Always be sure to go directly to shapeshift.io, do not follow e-mail links, do not click on slack links, do not click on random links sent to you and you will be fine. We must be vigilant to protect our assets against these scammers. Watch out for misspellings and accents on the letters".

This is the REAL Site: https://shapeshift.io/#/coins
This is the FAKE Site: https://xn--shapeshft-m5a.io/# (DO NOT SEND TO THIS SITE!!!)

See the difference?

I want to add that the real Shapeshift site has a support link on the bottom right corner. The fake site does not. I lost $18 this morning but I was not the biggest fool. I checked the address I sent my coins to, and they had numerous victims. Some unsuspecting victims sent up to $1500 of ether. Please be careful out there folks! This type of stuff happens to the best of us. We can all be victims if we are not careful. Take time to make sure you are on the right site. Stay Safe!!!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @truthrevolution! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @truthrevolution! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58