Kroger No Longer Takes Visa, Considering Bitcoin On The Lightening Network

in #bitcoin5 years ago

When I saw this in my headline I thought it was over-exaggerated. Yes I believed they stopped taking Visa (they are not happy with the fees) but I did not think they were thinking about bitcoin. And it is true they are not going to setup bitcoin overnight but there actually is a tweet conversation with Pompliano and a product manager from Kroger. And the product manager seems pretty positive to get hooked up with bitcoin lightening.

Only on twitter.

It makes sense for stores to take bitcoin and they would save 2-3% in fees from transactions. That adds up to a lot of money. The only problem is not enough people use bitcoin as this time but that could change by the day. And when it does you can save a lot on fees.

Check out the article and the convo here:
https://bitcoinist.com/kroger-smiths-visa-bitcoin-lightning-network/

main-flow-2094389_1280.jpg

Sort:  

This is huge. My family shops at Kroger owned subsidiaries. Need to check this out. Thank you @whatageek.

I wonder if every Kroger store will run a full node. I also wonder if they could provide money transfer services and it be worth it. Other places make money doing it, of course.

I do a lot of shopping at Kroger and I would love to be able to buy Bitcoin there and to use (sell) bitcoin there. They have a good incentive program through their Kroger card.

The movement toward mass retail is slowing beginning :D

Well shit! this could be huge.... I won't say that I expected something like this but I am not surprised either.
This must be lighting fire under the a** of the banking system

Congratulations @whatageek! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 95000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100000 upvotes.
You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

I shared you on Twitter! Nice post!

I have had no doubt that crypto would go into the mainstream before too long, but if this goes through then I will be shocked. Having a corporation this big and ubiquitous adopt Bitcoin would be IMMENSE! This is bigger than Starbucks accepting Bitcoin. Starbucks may be huge but EVERYONE needs food. Not everyone needs coffee.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55