My Noob Crypto Currency Adventure Stage 06 (I Just Realized I don't Know A Thing About Hardware!!!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

 Hi Guys! If you haven't read most previous post I would like to inform you that I am preparing to build my first proper mining RIG (I am currently just using my PC and its barley usable when I am mining!!!). To be honest I am starting to get scared as I really do not know much about hardware and I have big fat hands that tend to break stuff. Building my first mining rig is a substantial investment for me as most of my assets have been liquidated to help my family. I know that getting in to crypto currencies is risky and I should not be risking money you can not afford to lose but I know that I will not be able to dig myself out of this hole without exposing myself to some risk (I'm quite scared of risk was never been in debt in my life before but I can not let my family down so here I am)

I am currently scared that I will not be able to build my rig as I am not well educated in hardware side of things. Luckily I was able to reach out to the Bits Be Trippin Discord channel and the people there are helping me out (So if you have mining questions don't ask me ask the people in Bits Be Trippin)

Currently most of my parts are found on a single store but it is missing one critical piece of hardware that complete my rig. Let me introduce to you the almighty PCI express USB risers.

This device will allow you to connect multiple video cards to your motherboard (Trying to 2-3 cards in single mother is hard enough what about 6 to 12!!!).  Unfortunately, some of the seller for the item that I have already checked in my previous post was not available so I have to ask help again from the BBT Discord channel. However I just realized that the images posted by the sellers were slightly different. 

First, they have different colors, I don't know if this has any affect on performance or quality but I would prefer if it was available in Orange which is my favorite color (OK! I joke... I kid... my favorite color is Pink!!!). Second, are different versions 03, 06, 07, 08 is bigger better, what does it all mean? Third, they have this small cans attached to them some cards have more and some even have different sizes.

I am risking too much money for this rig to allow it to burn down due to my incompetence. So even if its humiliating for me I asked them if they can check each screen shot I found in the seller site that I am thinking about buying (Probably the 10 year old kids in this channel know more stuff than me). 

Thanks to armchairguru  I was able to select a riser that should be compatible to my rig (He is here also in steemit but does not seem to be active). I also learned a few things about the device that may help me in the future which I would also like to share to everyone.

Apparently the can like things are called a capacitor and according to Wikipedia it  is a passive two-terminal electrical component that stores electrical energy in an electric field (Yeah! that helps a lot). Second, the 2 smaller capacitors in the circuit is called a step down cap which is used to smooth the power sort off, that was the best explanation that was given to me in the BBT channel as I believe they think my head will explode if they gave out more information. Finally, that the black dome in between the capacitor is a power choke which according to Wikipedia is  is an inductor used to block higher-frequency alternating current (AC) in an electrical circuit, while passing lower-frequency or direct current (DC). Note that is not just an ordinary everyday power choke but an extra power choke (Now if only I can find the original power choke).

Thanks to the kindness of of people in the Internet I maybe able to make my rig work after all. Even if that site should have been full of Alt Right Gamer Nazis that promotes patriarchy, Islamophobia, and Transphobia. However, our love for crypto currency has pulled us together (GOD! I hoped I don't have to explain this joke and get demonetized if such things exist here). 


So guys Like, follow, subscribe, and mash that bell button even if it is not there. Well till next time (-_-) 


Sort:  

Congratulations @yingstyle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @yingstyle to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56