YingStyle Thinking Out Loud Series - My Noob Crypto Currency Adventure Stage 03steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Now that I have decided that GPU mining will be the best route for me to get into crypto currencies I started to research what software I need to use. According to what I read I can no longer mine Bitcoin with a GPU and should look in to other alt-coins that also does not use those toaster looking ASIC miners. (As ASIC miners can get hot they probably can and will toast bread as well as any toaster)

While watching a ton of mining videos on youtube a lot of them talk about different GPU altcoins such as Ethereum, Zcash, Monero, Hush, and hundreds of other altcoins that has the potential to be the next big thing (Thats great I already missed Bitcoin and Ethereum I hope I will be able to catch the next big thing). I never new that there were already hundreds of crypto currencies when I barely knew about Bitcoin and Ethereum. 


So for now my strategy is to find a generic and FREE software that will allow me to mine Bitcoin (As this is the only crypto currency that can be converted to PHP in my country). I would also need a generic GPU that a would allow me a different number of crypto currencies depending on what I would want to invest in (I always had a bias to Team green fortunately for me it seems that modern Nvida cards are great for mining due to lower power consumption). So I need to check if a single card would actually return a profit, that it will pay for the cause of electricity and in time pay for itself in a short amount of time.

So in the next few days I searched for some reasonably priced brand new Nvidia card in my Country. As buying outside my country might take weeks and shipping cost would probably just eat all the savings I get from better priced sites like Amazon or eBay. Also I just like to know if this plan to earn money is feasible, I also keep telling myself well if it does not work at least I can still play games with it (I need to know the answer NOW!!!). My target was GTX 1070 as according to gaming and mining reviews it gives the most bang for a buck. Searching for GPU last October was difficult as either the GPU where out of stock or the store does not want to sell them unless I also buy a whole computer with it (WTF!!!!). After a week of searching I found a store that was selling a GeForce® GTX 1070 Super JetStream for 22,800PHP that's around 478USD (I know its over priced but the experiment must run now, to know if I can go full blast in this project by December). I called the store and asked them if they still have the card in stock. The clerk told me that there was just one left, I then told the clerk if I could reserve it for now. Unfortunately, they don't do reservations and all purchases are on a first come first server basis (D@mn it, OK fine I'm coming over right now!!!). I took a bath and ask my parents to drive me to the store as it was already 7:00PM Sunday evening, traffic and parking will be difficult and the store is only open a until 9:00PM. I can't waste my time looking for a parking slot when someone else could be buying the card that supposed to be mine. 


Just about the time we were about to leave I just remembered I am a complete hardware noob. I don't usually handle electronics or fragile things as I have heavy hands and tends to break them. I need to bring my PC to the store and have the GPU installed by the employee there (Yeah I think I can figure how to install it but the possibility of me breaking it when I am pissed is increasing by the minute). Ugh! now I have to remove all the chords and crap attached to my PC, while getting myself covered in dust in the process. But I cannot think about that now as the clock is thinking I got get myself to the mall.


I jumped out of the car the as we drove in front of the mall's entrance, and I asked my parents that they drop me off and find a place to park the car. Its already 8:20PM and the store will be closed any minute. I got to the store in record time drop my PC off and asked them for the product to be installed. It seems everything was in order but alas I forgot that I had no money with me and they will need a down payment before they will do any work. 

I ask them if they knew the closes ATM around but unfortunately they do not. Therefore I had to run around the mall for a whole 15 minutes trying to find the an ATM and run back to the store so I can give my deposit. Luckily they believe that I was sincere and were already at work installing the GPU when I came back. 

SUCCESS!!! I got the hardware I need I just hope that all that stress and running around was worth it. It is time to go home and test if this will work(It better WORK!!!). 



Till next time (-_-)

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @yingstyle to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71