You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bits and Pieces -The Good, The Bad & The Fugly

in #bitsandpieces6 years ago

That's a very well written post, witty yet informative and opinionated.
I find it really strange that people who do trade cryptos, and I think most of them trade other cryptos than bitcoin as well - are still sticking to the bitcoin as the base currency and when he's down - the whole market is collapsing.
Now - this is only logical that it happens in coin that has only BTC pairing, but in those that pair to fiat - it's just not rational! is it because there is a lot of stupid money in the markets right now? I'm not sure.

The point you raise are exactly the reason I've bought a Trezor and a Ledger hardware wallets, that way I can rest assured that my coin are securely sleeping in their wallet, offline and relaxed :)

This is also the reason when A very good friend of mine told me he bought some thousands of STEEM - I pretty much forced him to move it to a steemit account, and since he is an hodler - I just helped him to power it up and delegate it to minnowbooster, that way he is much more secured - a hacker will not be able to touch his funds, and he earns some interest on his investment :)

Sort:  

It pains me to know that someone was able to obtain keys and email passwords from one and that others were conned into investing everything on a relatively new site. A Trezor is nice, but it's also small and could be lost or maybe misplaced easily. Still. Good thinking.

I am not comfortable delegating SP, though I was doing it once a week when I ran the #takemyvotes give-away a long time ago (before Steemit implemented delegation). My delegation was nothing more than a bot that followed each vote that the winner placed. Thus my account would vote on every post the winner voted on.

I have heard good things about minnow booster, and the returns are good. But I still see a lot of posts that are very good, yet receiving zero payout. I am not a bot, I curate actively every day.

I feel secure knowing that my SP would take 13 weeks to power down if a hacker obtains my active key. During the first week, I would notice the decline and stop them using my owner key.

It is quite nice to have such thoughtful responses as I have my morning coffee. Thank you.

Thank you - after enjoying such a good post I felt I most draft a quality comment.
I know personally someone working for minnowbooster, and I know they try really hard to be moral and fair.
I'm not sure what I think about the bots phenomenon - I didn't check it but I think that even if a post enters the trending page - most of the votes it will get will be dust votes from inexperienced users that will not upgrade his payments by much - so unless the revenue you get for buying votes is lucrative by itself - I'm not sure how important it is.
Maybe it makes the post view-able to some whales so they read it and upvote it if they like it, but that's completely fine with me - they will upvote it only if it's worth it.
I am pretty sure I miss something, otherwise the bots wouldn't be so popular - but I'm not sure what.

I use bots for when I am away from my computer. I have a list of people that need support, the new users that I brought on board, and lists of people that have supported me in the past. I am sure that I would vote on them if I were able. If I can't, the bots do the voting for me.

Why?

Because any large account sitting idle is a wasted investment. If I leave for the day and forget to turn on my bots, I will come home and see my accounts at 100% voting power and my friends lacking the support they were hoping for. If I am gone for more than a week, it may be enough time for some of the new users to become discouraged.

From my perspecive - if I am absent for a long time, I earn nothing in curation rewards.

Thanks for your support..It is encouraging.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87