You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: # Sovereign Sky - Excerpt 10 - Truth or Consequences

in #bitshares6 years ago

"It would be nice if we had prosecutors interested in justice who would use a little discretion but I suppose that's too much to ask..."

Yes, that appears to be too much to ask in the contemporary U.S.S.A.

Lest any of your readers dismiss your story as "over the top," I'll mention this anecdote in support of your thesis.

I am a flesh-and-blood natural person born here in the USA, having no affiliation with you or bitshares (apart from my personal admiration and appreciation).

Before I even knew anything about you or BTS or Steem, I was summoned to appear before the United States District Court for the Southern District of California here in San Diego by one of these not-so-fictitious, but extremely ambitious, hand-picked prosecutors. She demanded that I answer to the court for every point on an exceedingly long list of deeply intrusive, personal questions that I had one by one previously declined to answer when grilled by an agent of the Infernal Revenue Service, as is my supposed inalienable right under the Fifth Amendment.

Imagine my shock and horror to discover that under our lovely system of "just-us"--a.k.a. the beast--I could be compelled to set aside my normal daily activities and forced to transport myself to San Diego to appear in court, where a judge could, under threat of throwing me in a cage, demand that I answer specific questions for the benefit of the I.R.S. against my will.

Thank God, there was at least an apparent interest in authentic justice on the part of the particular judge of the court who heard my case. He was an elderly gentleman who at least demonstrated his own belief in a consistent interpretation and upholding of the law as he understood it.

The outcome, thank Jesus/God, was that rather than answering 100+ arbitrary questions, I was compelled to provide answers to but a few that (at least so far) appear not to have provided the demonic IRS with any sufficient pretext to jail me.

Stan, I hope this provides some small additional insight into why I, personally, so much appreciate your efforts and the efforts of those working alongside you, to create new and effective tools that may enable us to maintain some semblance of financial liberty and ability to resist the tyranny and oppression so prevalent, but only obvious to those who dare to resist. May the LORD continue to bless your efforts and those of all who stand with you!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84