How I Lost Control Of My Bitshares Wallet To A Scammer

in #bitshares5 years ago

I've been using Bitshares for the past 4 years, it's a versatile, fast and cheap economical environment with many utilities. Margin trading, countless blockchain bridges, and speed make it a powerful blockchain for managing the myriad of crypto coins and pennies available across the cryptosphere, but it still has a long way to go of having a simple and intuitive user interface making it suitable for everyday use by those who don't know what a programming language is.
Although I'm not much of a gamer, and haven't really spent much time gaming for the last few years, I came across this g2a website that accepts bitcoin and has the latest AAA games on the cheap, I was curious to see how my r7 360 handled a modern title and spent 10 EUR worth of bitcoin on Battlefront 2. Easy, log on to my Bitshares account, get some open.btc, pay a hefty fee, and send my bits. I sent a wrong amount and promptly got an email informing me to send a few more cents to get my game, no problem. Was tired, went to sleep.
The next day, logged on to Bitshares, contemplating my finances, worth several times less what they were valued when btc was at 20k usd, and noticed a proposal from openledger, asking to pay a small fee, "Great, g2a must have been done waiting and sent my btc back to openledger to refund me, how nice of them":

Screenshot (142).png

I thought they were asking for a small fee (a few bts) to return my funds. Wrong! It was actually a functionality completely unfamiliar to me, a way for a bitshares account to handle over control of the account to another account, openledger-security, completely unrelated to openledger (a gateway service), without any warning from the bitshares system. I promptly clicked ok, thinking the worst that could happen would be to loose that small fee. Wrong!
When sending funds to get my game again, the followying strucks my monitor:

btsphoto1.png

And there it was, instead of paying a small fee, I just handed my entire account to this scammer, running a scrypt sending these proposals to anynone using openledger, further research showed he has many accounts with names resembling other gateways and services. He now has full authority over my account, assigning himself a permission weight of 2 against my inferior 1, preventing me to undo all changes:

Screenshot (143).png

Manged to understand the scammer sells all assets on victim's accounts and sends them to this putler666 account, having scammed in excess of 100k usd.

The proposal I signed now has a warning on the latest UI and the Bitshares community is working to further this warning to prevent further scams, be aware of this misfortune and make sure you undersrand anything that goes on in the DEX and keep your wallets updated!
I manged to get some of my assets called back by their creators, as you can see in the first picture when I informed the rudex gateway of the scam and they recalled the PPY on my account to prevent the scammer for profiting from it and will later send me when I prove I own the account. But others such as Bitspark denied me this service. all native assets will be lost. I am powerless waiting for this disgusting person to liquidate my assets and get away with it when he feels like it.
Over and Out

grandslam

Sort:  

I can understand u @grandslam,. It happen to me also and I lost my bts. This scam is going on with the openledger message, getting people keys and transfering all the token. Please be save and watch out for scammers.

Congratulations @grandslam! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73