How I regained access to my Bittrex account

in #bittrex6 years ago

This should not happen to anyone..

fingerprint-2904774__340.jpg

I had lost access to my bittrex account but got it back yesterday. The details are in the above post.

I will write it sentence by sentence so that you can read it easily.

After having helped @tygertyger I decide to transfer my steem to my bittrex account so that I can withdraw it as fiat - God knows how with the govt. and RBI posing a huge hurdle.

I open my bittrex account but when I get to the Google authenticator part, I am unable to fill the code as my phone had crashed and I had to format it.

I try installing the app and hope that the codes appear magically but it does not.

I search online for solutions but get something called ROOT which is beyond my comprehension.

After having sat down before my PC for a good many hours and trying not to think of how much money I would lose if I did not get back my account, I decide to contact @bittrex support.

I contact them and detail my problem.

Thankfully, I get a reply within a few hours asking me for details like:
a) details of latest transactions
b) selfie with ID and a card having bittrex written on it and date
c) IP address

I send all these three and get a mail again, asking for a clearer picture of the ID proof. My camera is not great but still, I send a close up picture of the ID and within a few hours, get a mail saying that my google 2fa has been removed.

I login and regain access to my bittrex account.


So, that is how it worked. please do not panic if you lose your password or key but I would suggest storing your key and password in at least three places like cloud, paper and offline.

image source - pixabay

Sort:  

Glad you got it back <3

thank you so much dear

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sayee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Glad that you got it back .... a similar issue can happen if we loose mobile numbers too - ie we are not able to verify OtP

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71