Today I got to find out why Bittrex has such bad reviews on Trustpilot,

in #bittrex4 years ago

Haven't written anything in a long time.
Don't expect this to be read either but need to rant somewhere.

Haven't done anything with crypto in 2 years. Almost forgot that I had any.
Today I decided to log into Bittrex again for the first time in two years,
Just to find out that my account has been disabled and unable to withdraw
or deposit anything. Reason being probably because of a new change of rules.

I send a ticket, asking for why my account was disabled. I got a reply really fast, saying I need to verify myself. Went on the site and noticed that verifying myself requires copying and uploading
your ID in my case my passport to the internet. Which I am not going to do, the money I have on there is not worth potential Identity fraud. So I decided to consider my money lost and maybe deleting my account.
Then the costumer service asked me to withdraw funds before deleting my account, but I can't because it has been disabled.

Where I am from even government institutions warn not to upload ID photos online.
If anybody is thinking about uploading their ID online I advice them to think it over twice.
I really doubt that this data is fully safe from hackers or scammers.

I am now hoping to find a more private decentralized exchange.

Would love to know other people's opinion on this stuff.
Hope you all doing well.

Have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67