10 hours video - How I made the loop

in #blackhole5 years ago (edited)

Here's how I made my 10hrs loop video of the 1st photographed black hole in a 3D reconstruction. 4K video format.

For first I downloaded the whole video in which it was inserted, then precisely cut from start of the rotation cycle, to the end, counting the frames between movements of the coordinates arrows on the left (3).

3D-coordinates.png

I then exported 3 segments in VP9 codec, respectively with a fade-in, clean and fade out.

start-middle-end-vse.png

so I calculated how much time to get 10 hours having the single video segment duration and build a list up. It is 4697 minus 2, start and end.

for i in {1..4695}; do
    printf "file '%s'\n" short.mkv >> list.txt;
    done

so added start.mkv and end.mkv to the list.

For the audio I searched for long music in CC-BY on FreeMusicArchive and on Kevin MacLeod's website and assembled in Audacity in order to get roughly 10 hrs.

Exported in *.flac and converted in *.opus (Doing in-software resulted in a failure, not sure why):

ffmpeg -i audio.flac -c:a libopus -b:a 96k audio.opus

uploaded e.thing to the GCP server (8.6 MiB video + 435.4 MiB audio), where I installed ffmpeg and initialized a simple vnc server where I started Xorg and proceeded to assemble everything up:

ffmpeg -f concat -i list.txt -i audio.opus -c copy output.mkv

So I fired a Firefox instance up and uploaded the whole (~15 GiB) in 1 minute or 2.

gcp-upload-power.png

That's all =)
I figured then out that I could have used the YouTube API someway in order to upload without the Xserver running but, well.. maybe next time I'll give it a try ^^

As usual,
if you found this blog/guide interesting/usefull, I am very coffee addicted ^-^

Cheers,
FraYoshi.

Sort:  

Congratulations @frayoshi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73