My Mainframe adventure

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

There's not much that I can be certain of within this space...

...other than uncertainty itself. However, one thing that I can be certain of is the fact that everyone in this space has heard about Mainframe, and if you haven't - where have you been?

I was very excited to have been able to participate in the Mainframe token (physical) airdrop a couple of weeks ago in Central London. The location itself was very symbolic as it was in the middle of many major financial institutions and a stones throw away from The Bank of England and London Bridge. Imagine that? A cryptocurrency airdrop right in the middle of these centralised institutions, for a project that represents opposing values: decentralisation, freedom, privacy, being uncensored, to name a few.

If I had to pick just one word that I feel sums up Mainframe and what they stand for, it would be Freedom.

Mainframe isn't just about decentralised messaging, it is one of a few projects within this space that is trying to tackle the issue of being able to communicate freely, whether it be through messaging, sending/storing data, or making payments. It's bigger than the social media nightmare we've been exposed to (which I touched upon in a previous post "The price we pay for our Content"), it's as I say in my video, that "personal data" is the new "oil", and whoever owns the most of it will have the most power.

I'm a big fan of this project and have very high hopes for the team (who were lovely btw!). However, there is one question that I have, one that I haven't heard or seen anyone address yet, and that is the question:

"What about the bad actors in society?"

By bad actors I am not referring to myself in an episode of Power Rangers, but those in the world who want to abuse this kind of technology to take people down, to terrorise, to punish, to commit crime? This is a conversation that I would like to start, because, as much as I love the idea of decentralisation and freedom, I am also concerned about this other side of the coin. There's a reason why the mainstream associate cryptocurrency (mainly Bitcoin) with illicit activity, and why the Silk Road and Bitcoin are synonymous with each other. This was a question that I, unfortunately, didn't get a chance to ask the Mainframe team at the event due to it being so busy, but it's something that I would really like to discuss.

That being said, I am very enthusiastic about their vision and wish this project nothing but success.

Here is the video update that I made about my Mainframe experience. Oh, and how many times can you hear me say the word "SUPER"? LOL!!!

Thanks for taking the time to read this.
@Crypt0Rhodes x

Sort:  

I just watched Snowden last night. It's a good movie. You should see it if you haven't already. I'm sure some of it might be not exactly what happened, but it helps to grasp what exactly they were/are doing.

It's not about if we really have anything to hide, or whatever, as you said because that doesn't really matter. Everyone breaks small laws regularly because there are so many on the books. Even those rare few that don't break any laws, they have friends and family that do, or that can be used in some way. In the show they wanted to gain access to a guy, so they found out that the guy she wanted to marry was sleeping with two other girls, then next thing you know, she tried to commit suicide, and they had him. If they have all of our information, they know exactly how to control us. They know how we think, how we'll react. It's only going to get worse. Since Snowden, we have had quite incredible breakthroughs in AI. Nowadays they could do even more insane things. With an AI they can examine everything you put out there, and figure out your sexuality and political affiliation, even if you've never said them. They might even decide that you're a risk for some reason, and cause you immeasurable stress and hardship for any number of the crimes everyone commits every day. Or they could use a friend or family member against you.

Honestly, it's scary. The really scary part is that all these things that computer experts knew were possible, they were actually doing. Things that if you told anyone they could do, you would be labeled a conspiracy theorist, they were doing. Now, they have even more capabilities. What are they doing now?

Ex-act-ly.

I was actually waiting for your response because I knew it would be an interesting one.

I haven't watched Snowden yet, but it's on my watch list... I absolutely agree with you, most people haven't grasped the scale of this, and the general apathy is quite disturbing. I watched a BBC documentary series called "Secrets of Silicone Valley" before the whole Cambridge Analytica news came to light, and even back then they were talking about how they were collecting and using our data to make (some very accurate) assumptions about us based purely on what kind of posts we 'liked' or even just read, therefore, adjusting advertising etc in order to influence our vote(s).

I have no doubts at all of how deep they can go into ruining a life, and it's a tricky subject to talk about openly because most people are quick to use the term "fake news" or just have that look on their faces that you have gone full-on tin foil hat on them.

It is scary, and you've brought up a question that I daren't even think about, "what are they doing now?" I shudder at the thought of that.

I actually don't think the whole Cambridge Analytica thing was that big of a deal. I knew it was going to happen eventually way back when, just looking at the horrible security of apps. All these apps you use on Facebook have access to way more info than they need to run. Same with Android. Android's gotten a little better with newer version at least though. There are going to be more breaches though. Cambridge Analitica thing just had the misfortune of being implicated in the first publicised breach. They like knew exactly what they were buying though, and that it wasn't exactly kosher. They also likely weren't the only ones to buy it...

As far as the advertising, I actually wish I could volunteer a little info so they stop showing me certain ads. There are some I just really don't wanna see. :P

It's scary, but we might be at a point where the tin foil hat people might occasionally be more right than anyone else. I fear whats more that we passed the turning point and it's going to quickly become far too late.

Perhaps it's time for me to head to the supermarket and buy me a role of tin foil lol...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60