The Future of Block Chain and Cryptocurrencies

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

The Future of Block Chain and Cryptocurrencies.pngI am not going to sit here and try to convince you that I know much about the block chain and cryptocurrencies. To be honest this is all new to me. I was introduced to bitcoin a few years ago, bought some bitcoins, and not long afterwards sold them back. I look back now and realize that was a mistake, but lesson learned (even though it was a million dollar lesson).

I have been doing some digging and searching since I joined the Steemit community. To my surprise there is more to this than I realized. I found a job board just on cryptocurrencies and the block chain. All the positions pay well over 100k and many offer bonuses. I can assure that I will not be applying for any of those positions, since my knowledge is lacking and so is my understanding of all of this.

As I was searching even more a google ad appeared in my gmail. This ad was for MIT, and they were offering online courses for the block chain. I also wanted to know if you can have a block chain with out cryptocurrencies. Some articles I have read said that they are not dependent on each other. I also searched what is a block chain and it came up as a digital ledger. My understanding is it is way of keeping records to prevent fraud and duplicate transactions.

I can now agree that a block chain and cryptocurrency is not dependent of each other. You can have a blockchain without cryptocurrency and you can have cryptocurrency without a blockchain. However to keep your crypto safe you should use a blockchain. I am not sure if I am even on the right track with that statement. So if you have an easier explanation I would love to hear it.

As I said I am a noob with all of this and the more I dig into it the more I get confused. The one thing I am not confused about is the future to all of this. There are many uses for a block chain that I have read and talk of the government using the block chain as well.

This got me thinking about the future of block chain and cryptocurrencies. If MIT is offering courses on this what other colleges and universities are doing the same. To my surprise there are many that offer courses. I am not talking cheap state colleges but Ivy League universities.

Here are 10 Ivy League universities that offer classes whether online or physical classes on campus.

  1. CORNELL UNIVERSITY located in Ithaca, New York

  2. DUKE UNIVERSITY located in Durham, North Carolina

  3. GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY located in Washington, DC,

  4. MIT located in Cambridge, MA

  5. NYU located in New York City NY

  6. PRINCETON UNIVERSITY located in Princeton, New Jersey

  7. RMIT UNIVERSITY located in Melbourne, Victoria

  8. STANFORD UNIVERSITY located in Stanford, California

  9. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA AT BERKELEY located in Berkeley, California

  10. UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN located in the twin cities of Champaign and Urbana Illinois

  11. UNIVERSITY OF NICOSIA located in Nicosia, the capital of Cyprus. The first in the world to offer a full graduate degree program in blockchain and digital currency technology.

Well you see it as well. The future of blockchain and crytptocurrency is huge, so much so Ivy League Universities around the world are offereing classes and degrees. I am no young buck anymore but I still can learn. I guess I need to do some more searching and expand my knowledge to this whole new world, to me, of blockchain and cryptocurrency.

Until my next ramble
James Woods

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85