Blockchain: The Next Evolutionary Phase of the Internet

in #blockchain5 years ago

download.jpg


I am lucky enough to remember the first time my family connected to the internet. I would have been around 9 or 10 in the early 90's. So maybe it was just my young mind having difficulty understanding the concepts. But I also remember the adults having difficulty explaining what the internet actually was.

"You mean I can search for any topic? So it's like an encyclopedia Britannica?"

"But I can also send messages to other people?"

Concepts that are truly revolutionary are often difficult to describe, because nothing has come before to allow for a reference.

I am seeing a similar trend when it comes to blockchain and Bitcoin. People have become so accustomed to centralized databases, the idea of a distributed ledger and a decentralized currency is completely foreign.

But in technology (and much like in life), there is an evolutionary process. Music went from 8-track, to cassette, to CD's, to mp3's, etc. The same goes for medical technology, weapon technology, computer technology and so on. The same is true for the internet.

The human conscience has identified the faults with how the current internet is ran. From using our online habits as a means of profits based on advertisements, to content censorship. It is only a matter of time before the world realizes the potential of the blockchain to address them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71