Installing Geth, Creating a Private Blockchain backed Voting Dapp on Ethereum Part 1 College Crypto Vol. 7

in #blockchain6 years ago

Creating an Ethereum DAPP Using Geth Part 1 July 7, 2018 College Crypto Vol. 7

Noah Ramos W.P. Carey School of Business, Studying Economics

I have been wanting to learn how to build a decentralized application on Ethereum for awhile now and today I stumbled upon a FREE E-Book: http://file.allitebooks.com/20180707/Beginning%20Blockchain.pdf

Beginning Blockchain

I took an interest in this book as on page 319 it begins a step by step process to employ your own Ethererum Voting DAPP on your private blockchain. In this steemit post, I will go over what I accomplished towards setting up my private Ethereum network.

Cryptocurrency Marketcap: $278,122,858,791 on Coinmarketcap!
Bitcoins in circulation: 17,137,237 According to Coinmarketcap!
Live Coin Tickers:

Bitcoin: https://api.coinmarketcap.com/v1/ticker/bitcoin/

Litecoin: https://api.coinmarketcap.com/v1/ticker/litecoin/

Ethereum: https://api.coinmarketcap.com/v1/ticker/ethereum/d

Installing Geth

When installing geth from this link given in the book, https://geth.ethereum.org/downloads/, you have to wait for all the blocks to sync (Which will take 15 minutes +). Multiple times it stated that it disconnected from a node and had to restart scanning blocks; this is normal and does not affect the end result. You know that it is finished when your geth file changes from what is below and is no longer imputing blocks.

If completely downloaded, the command, geth version in your windows command prompt should return something similar to the picture below on the right hand side.

Creating Data Directory

  • In order to create my custom data directory I ran the command mkdir mygeth in the command prompt.

Creating Geth Account

  • When creating my Geth account, I ran the code script found below on the screenshot from Beginning Blockchain, and when prompted for a password, create and record one for safe keeping.

Genesis.JSON

Now that I have officially obtained and protected my Geth account, the next step is to create the Genesis.Json file which will be completed in Volume 8. of College Crypto!

Conclusion / Summary

In this Steemit post, I started the Ethereum Voting DAPP project and have officialy created my geth account and have a working wallet address encrypted by my password. In the future volumes I will be continuing to work through the creation of this DAPP while following along in the Beginning Blockchain E-Book! Thank you for joining me, Noah Ramos, for Vol. 7 of College Crypto and if would like to see more content like this get better, please leave a comment and an upvote or even a donation if you found this useful; please feel free to reach out to me via email, Instagram, or the College Crypto Facebook group in the link below!

Contact Info / Donations

Email: [email protected]......... Instagram: @topp_ramos_......... Twitter: @noah_ramos__

College Crypto Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1481717778542301/

Donations:

Litecoin Adress: La2XY8MPmkt1R57yczbSZwyiE5aMTEgR5H

Bitcoin Address: 1JNe16PviKjywWSrAJ5MEWJiakNxWhwEC9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49