You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Expert Economist Says Blockchain is Least Useful Technology in History - I can think of 1 or 2 uses

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

I mean, crypto is actually helping people in third world countries. Look at Venezuela, they have hyper inflation of like 19,000%. People start accepting crypto instead to avoid it. Crypto is borderless and (currently) governments can't regulate it easily.

Also I agree that blockchain will help fight against increasing censorship by governments and corporations. This is a big deal to me. Freedom of speech promotes the marketplace of ideas which to me is pivotal for a civil society to truly progress and to maintain a free society. If we only allow one set of ideas to be promoted in speech, then we are allowing mass groupthink to happen over time.

I'm thankful that I found steem and hoping it becomes massively adopted in the near future.

Really enjoyed the post

Sort:  

Not every country is guaranteed freedom of speech and some countries that say they guarantee it don't live up to that promise. It's great that there are places like Steem that are free of censorship.

Glad you enjoyed the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84