Blockchain Memory Project - Ten random things about @lizelle

in #blockchainmemoryproject5 years ago (edited)

I'm killing two birds with one stone here, as I have written a couple of #blockchainmemoryproject posts as initiated by the very kind and super talented author @ericvancewalton, and have now been challenged by the lovely and super brave mountain climber and ex rescue boat volunteer @natubat to do a post - #tenrandomthings about myself, so the subject is quite apt for both tags.
I'm also showcasing artwork done by family and friends.

IMG_20181129_171639.jpg
My oldest uncle Cornel worked in Paris and Hamburg and did various paintings of me from photographs Mom sent him

Hopefully one day in the future if one of my great great grand children become curious about their old great great grandma, they will be able to read about me here on the blockchain.
BUT I'm still waiting to be a grandma, will it ever happen???

I love challenges, but not when I'm asked to reveal more about myself!

So when @natubat challenged me to participate in the Ten Random Things Challenge started by @twodorks, and posed a real fun question, I fell for it hook, line and sinker, which meant I had to do the challenge.
Her question to me of course is around food as that is what I love blogging about:

If you had to be a food ingredient, which one would it be, and why?

Being a sweet tooth I answered
I would like to be sugar & spice and all things nice...but that's two ingredients so I'm cheating...

@natubat and I agreed in the end that I would then be Cinnamon-Sugar which I do love - think Apple Pie, Pancakes, Chelsey Buns, Milk Tart to name but a few!

Milk Tart.jpg

What is #blockchainmemoryproject - the tag is self explanatory and I've given the guidelines from @ericvancewalton at the end of my post.

TEN RANDOM THINGS ABOUT ME

Number 1
I nearly did not make it into the world as Mom almost miscarried after jumping over a gate when a large dog tried to attack her. I was brought into the world by a midwife, sister Dominy, who drove the streets of Port Elizabeth in a little Morris Minor delivering babies. This is a coastal city in the Eastern Cape, South Africa.

IMG_20181129_171001.jpg
Mother and child sculpture gifted to us by a very good friend and amazing artist Peter Wink

Number 2
Being the first grandchild, I was spoilt rotten not only by my grandparents, but my aunts and uncles as well. My youngest uncle was like a big brother to me and was the man who had the biggest influence on my life when I was growing up. He was murdered by homophobic killers 6 years ago, a horrific shock for everyone, he was a much loved and well known theatre personality. It was like a part of my life had been ripped away.

LizRulov.jpg
My uncle Rulov proudly holding me, I never dared calling him uncle though;)

Number 3
I'm a leftie, meaning I'm left-handed, and I quickly learnt that it was not always easy in a right-handed world. Learning to knit was a problem, I managed but it's not my favourite pastime. Of course when I started working as a draughtsperson, many of the hand draughting instruments were not designed with lefties in mind so I had to improvise! Signing a thick register book or a cheque book is an irritation!
IMG_20181129_171423-COLLAGE.jpg
A gorgeous antique butter knife with engraving not meant for a leftie!

Number4
My childhood dream was to one day be a concert pianist, but that dream was never realised. I used to go to the ballets when my late uncle danced, and loved the music with the whole philharmonic orchestra. I used to play the piano daily but then life got in the way. My poor old piano needs much restoration to play beautiful sounds again.
IMG_20181129_173323.jpg

Number 5
I love the sea, tried to be a fisherman like the rest of my family but only caught a sea snake and that put an end to that! I much preferred sunbathing with a good book.
IMG_20181129_174853.jpg
Painting by Peter of a photo we took when on holiday with them

Number 6
I'm a real bookworm, a dreamer at heart. My house has book racks in almost every room! Non-fiction, biographies, thrillers, a myriad of subjects interests me, not forgetting recipe books!
IMG_20181129_170856.jpg
My friend Cheryl made this for us - Joseph and his techni-coloured dreamcoat

Number 7
I broke my ankle a couple of years ago, was super painful and frustrating but that's when my dear hubby started renovating the garden pathways, driveway, retaining walls and even gave me a new kitchen, quite a price to suffer for a new kitchen not so ;)
IMG_20181129_171226.jpg
The bronze sculpture was a gift from our friend Peter at the time

Number 8
I was a foster Mom for a couple of years - the most difficult period of my life. Would have been rewarding if we had the children from a very young age but also the contact with the disfunctional parents' was very disruptive, sadly that did not work out. I wrote about it in a #blockchainmemoryproject post a couple of months ago.
IMG_20181129_170806_1.jpg
A heavy cross to carry - Cornel's artwork

Number 9
I got chicken pox at the same time my two sons had it, looked absolutely dreadful, red spots all over my body and face and itched like mad! Should have gotten this as a child but did not!
IMG_20181129_171757.jpg

Number 10
At long last number 10! I was a blood donor for many years, my blood type is Rhesus Negative and must have saved a couple of lives, something we can all do. Interesting stats here in South Africa is that most of the blood donated is used during childbirth.
IMG_20181129_171904.jpg
Gorgeous handmade porcelain pixie doll - a gift from a special friend who stayed with us during the last few weeks of her pregnancy as they live on a remote farm. Valda had twins, two beautiful girls, who stubbornly refused to leave Mom's womb! My anxious hubby drove her to hospital when the girls eventually decided it was time to emerge. Their proud Daddy did not make it in time though as it was a long drive.

My questions - you can ignore them or answer, but remember the consequences of answering means you accept my challenge - I'll be waiting :)
@birdsinparadise - you always inspire me with your divine healthy treats, what is your guilty pleasure?

@sherylneil - if you could choose to live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

@enchantedspirit - if you were to be president of your country, what would be first on your agenda?

@ericvancewalton - if you had a magic wand and could change the world, what would that change be?

@jaybird - if you could be a musical instrument, what would you be and why? Was going to ask what your dream sandwich would be;)

@loveself - your food is absolutely amazing, tell me what food ingredient you would be and why?

Steemit Blockchain Memory Project Rules of Engagement

Share any significant memory you’d like to. Think about things that have shaped who you are or may be unique in some way. Think about memories you’d like your great-great-grandchildren to read about....now write posts about these memories in your Steemit blog.
Use proper tags (see below)
Share a link to this post in all of your Blockchain Memory Project posts so others can find the rules.
Share your posts with your friends and family on external social media outlets (optional but encouraged).
Tag Suggestions
We want your memories to live on forever. We also want those memories to be searchable by those who might be looking for them in the future.
For this reason, I suggest the following tags for your first four - “Story Life Blog BlockchainMemoryProject”.
Your last tag should be very specific to what you’re writing about in your post, something that will help people who are searching for it on the internet.
I'll be sharing memories of my own along the way.

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

What a charming look at a charming person. And the artwork is just entirely too cool.

I grew up with 'close age' uncles, too. Of my 7 Uncles two were less than 7 years older (both were uncles before they were born). My two cousins tortured their 'uncles' by calling them uncle in elementary school.

I'm so sorry to hear the story of your uncle. So very sad.

Thanks Lizelle. I really appreciate it.

Thank you so very much for your lovely and thoughtful feedback, I can just imagine the uncles mirth ;) Because I was so much older than some of my cousins, they often tease me and call me aunt much to my disdain ;);) All in good fun though ;)
The loss of my very special uncle was huge, he was the kindest gentlest person, a much loved soul!

Lovely to learn more about you @lizelle, and I love the way you've woven the events around those beautiful personal artworks. You've had a few ups and downs! Very sad about what happened to your uncle.
Your old piano looks lovely. My 16-year-old nephew Sam tunes pianos, so he might be able to help bring yours back to life if he was able to get over there. He also plays the piano beautifully. There's a project in Glasgow to renovate old pianos. Some of them have been repainted and then put in public places so that people can play them.
I got chicken pox as a child luckily, as some of these infections can be more unpleasant in adults. But I got mumps as an adult, about 12 years ago. It just seemed to strike out of the blue - not one other person I know got it. I was really ill with it - almost delirious at one point!
Thanks for taking up the challenge and suggesting others!

Ah thank you for the challenge @natubat, all the artwork mean something to me so it's lovely that I had the opportunity to have a record of it here :)
Gosh, must have been terrible getting mumps so late!

It was just such a surprise! And yes, a very unpleasant one haha.

I got chicken pox as an adult too, I still remember it. It was in the USA, and the guy who looked after me caught it from me and ended up in hospital. I felt so bad.

Shame, it can be quite serious for adults, it was so awful, I had it in my ears, down my throat and of course my face. To add insult to it my son took one look at me one morning and said 'mommy you look ugly'! Thank you for your support:)

@enchantedspirit - if you were to be president of your country, what would be first on your agenda?

I would get the United States out of the war business. We will never kill our way out of today's problems.

As for the rest of it ... I don't know if your question was prompted by this post from a few months ago, but I sort of wrote it on this very subject.

https://steemit.com/tribesteemup/@enchantedspirit/tribesteemup-biweekly-question-what-would-you-do-for-society-if-you-had-all-the-resources-you-needed

(P.S. Challenge accepted.)

Great, that would be wonderful, putting an end to countless unnecessary deaths!
And great that you've accepted the challenge, look forward to getting to know you a little more @enchantedspirit!
I had read that post but can't recall it all, heading over there now again and thank you for accepting :)

It doesn't surprise me one bit that you would kill two birds with one stone here. Nice work and great questions you came up with for your folks to answer. Glad that I elected to get this challenge over early rather than later.
Us lefties do have it just a bit tougher as the world is definitely set up for the right handed people.

We sure do! Your response left more questions than answers mr Papper;)
Yes your name would have been on my list for sure!
Thank you for your support and great feedback!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 328 (12/02/18)

Thank you so much for this @thesteemengine:)

Love this my friend! It is so great to get to know you better. So very sorry about your uncle, that would be life changing and I am sure a horrible loss for you and your family. Love that you read books! I too love books! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much my friend, us foodies are so alike in many ways!
That loss was absolutely the worst especially as our police are useless to say the least!

I left out the most important part of this challenge, see end of my post ;)

I thought at first there were only 9 Random Things about Lizelle ... but now I see you have two #1's. (But who's counting?)

Thank you @thesteemengine, this is something weird with the numbering, it's correct in the edit box but not in the display? Really puzzling, will rather take the numbers out.

@enchantedspirit I left out the most important part of this challenge...it was very late at night when I posted ;)

That is beautiful @lizelle. Its nice to know things for a beautiful human like you. It is interesting, is it possible if i can join too?

Of course, I forgot the most important part, to nominate others, will get onto it right now so please read the question I pose to you in a little while at the end of my edited post ;)

You're a lady of wonder. Very interesting to learn some of your secrets lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85