DIARY OF SPLIT BEST FRIENDS; THE OTHER SIDE OF AN IMMIGRANT STORY- MY BLOCKCHAIN MEMORY PROJECT/ULOG MASHUP

in #blockchainmemoryproject6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Pixabay Image



Mainstream media will never share the whole story in any news, they keep a huge chunk of the build-up information that the audience really needs, and this might change their perspective in helping desperate immigrants in every corner of the World.

Every immigrant has a backup story to them fleeing their countries, some of these stories are good concocted lies, while some story is too heart-breaking to be considered truthful.

Watch the Movie; The Good Lie, it is one of those touching stories, a true-life story of some kids that escaped the genocide in South Sudan. I am writing in this article another similar story of a friend, all I knew was he left the country but never heard from him since high school; I have been trying to reach him for the past decade but with no positive outcome, he is not on any social media that I know of and I hope my worst fear has never happened to him- Death!

I had a bosom friend right through my elementary school and junior high, His name was Lawal Nafiu. I have to state his name should in the case or by chance he stumbles upon this blog as I am going to share it to all my social website account. We were both child genius, I was a bit older than him; maybe some months apart or a whole year but that never mattered to us. We do everything together, read together and even though I lost the touch of academic brilliance at some point I must confess, I still envy my friend to a long extent.

Often, we share one textbook because he might not be able to afford one. So we read one together in a bizarre way, he reads upside down while I read normally, I asked him one day and his explanation was simple; you own the book and I am just “scotting”.

My friend is a child to a single mom, not that his dad is dead; but because his mom embraced another religion, she was cast out and denounced as a wife. So she moved on with life with her three kids, my friend and her immediate elder sister and a big brother.

We had some emotional things in common, his mom and my mom were both single parents; I had two elder siblings and so he is. Though I never had a sister, he has one; very bright and smart kids they were just like me and my siblings. We both dreamt of going to a boarding school together, we were always nursing the idea of leaving this country together and become engineers or join the army, literally, we were like twins but from the different mother.

My friend and I suffered a whole lot, we both suffer psychological pains in the sense that, I had no dad but he had one he could never go close to as rich as his dad was. You could tell each time he was gisting me about his dad from the tears that flow on his face, to make matters worse; when had to pay our school fees and his mom didn’t pay on time. The mom works in another city, rented an apartment for her two boys while the girl was in the boarding house, the boys; my friend and his older brother could go so broke and for days not have anything reasonable to eat.

They were residing with some relative who treated them like slaves, poor feeding and inhuman treatment made my friend’s mother got an apartment for her kids to be independent and not live like a slave. I knew about this because I often follow him home to do dozens of chores, he tells me and I just go home with him and we get the task done and I “zing back home” before my own mom gets back from work.

On several occasions she got home before me, she would ask where I was; I just tell her the truth, she knows Nafiu because we both got schooled under her will we were preparing for junior high school. My late mom was an elementary school teacher, a very good one and a disciplinarian who teach about the value of true friendship, my friend, my soul mate often come to church and Christian fellowship gatherings with me, this gives my mom and my older siblings no choice than to accept him into my home like another little brother - partially I think!

It was dark old days back then, wireless communication was never heard of and mail services is like feeding the rats, nothing good sent to you from abroad gets to you, it would be stolen without a trace.

Back then we were living in a one bedroom apartment, so my friend most times could not sleep over, but spends most of the day with me after school. We eat anything we have at home together without complaining, if I am taking a home-cooked meal to school for lunch, my mom must serve for two- myself and Nafiu.

THE GREATEST AND HEARTBREAKING SPLITTING OF FRIENDS

image.png

Source

Then we split up, I went to the boarding school for my senior high and he went away to another school even though we planned it so much to go to the same school, it never worked out and that was the last time we ever have spoken or seen each other.

Till date I have never gotten a friend so true and devoted, he never complained about our one bedroom apartment, I never complained about sharing my meals with him. He knew all my secrets and I knew all of his, we often cover for each other at our press club, or when either of us gets in trouble and needs a valid alibi.

If he had made it out to the shores or Europe or America, Asia or Australia I could not tell, I still pray for his well-being even though the last time we spoke or saw each other was mid-1998, two decades later I am telling the story after several attempts to reach out to my dear friend.

Just like millions of other immigrants, my friend has a stronger cause not to ever want to visit his country of birth again if he had made it out alive. Every migrant wishes to try their chances of survival in a strange land, they become hopeless and still they live on with hope; even though thousands never made it to their destinations alive, drowned at sea and some fried in scorching deserts.

Many like the Chibok Girls are victims of insurgencies, seeking asylum as their lives are at risk in their various homeland. This and dozens of more reasons are the plights of these helpless immigrants worldwide; not all of them are evil, there is another side to every immigrant story!



How is your week going, friends? Check out some of my latest Steem Blockchain writing below. I appreciate all the support I have gotten from you all!

FROM CLONING TO ARTIFICIAL OVARY- THE ENGINEERED OVARIAN SCAFFOLD SOLVING CANCER COMPLICATIONS IN FEMALES

HAPPENINGS IN THE PHYSICAL, SPIRITUAL AND AFTER LIFE- An Original Spiritual Poetry Piece

DWINDLING PROOF OF BRAIN/MIND MINING- COME FOR THE MONEY, LEAVE FOR THE UNSPOKEN TRUTH ABOUT EARNING ON THE STEEM BLOCKCHAIN!

WHY THE CLINTON MAFIA/ILLUMINATI MIGHT HAVE KILLED ANTHONY BOURDAIN - DID HE KNOW TOO MUCH(Watch the Video In between)



FOLLOW-UPVOTE-RESTEEM AND MAYBE DROP A SUPPORTING OR CONTRARY COMMENT.....It's your friendly Neighbor @oluwoleolaide for Steem-Lagos-Nigeria-Africa-World!


Badge courtesy of @jodi.pamungka Animated Footer by @rituparnaghos.

Sort:  

Awwwww...remember the saying that saying goodbyes are the hardest, i can imagine the kind of heart break you must be feeling since you did not get the chance to say goodbye.
Don't give up, he might be doing very well wherever he is (i really hope he is doing well) and if the worst has happened, i hope you get to meet his siblings one of these days so at least you can get closure.

Keep steeming Ola,
@soorefunmi

This is amazing, thanks for the wonderful input @soorefunmi

You are welcome. I am glad my input is considered wonderful

What a long, touching and amazing story....
He's a rare gem talking from your write-up, but life is full of ups and down, you can't keep in touch with your friend always......some friends usually comes to our lives stay for a moment but left an unforgetable impact......
I know he might be reminiscing over the good old days.....don't think much......soon fate will bring you too together again

Amen and Amen and Amen

I really hope i find him again in this life

This is such a good (and heartbreaking) post @oluwoleoaide! I had a friend like this once, we were best friends from fourth grade until high school and then we grew apart. I hope you find you can track your friend down someday!

Thanks Mr.Eric for the golden opportunity to put these memories down, i fight tears each time i try to remember him and all that he went through and how i feel i could be of a little help.

God Bless you sire.

You remembered him here and that will last forever.
Hope you have a better life now.
I wish you the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87