You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BLOCK-CHAINS | A Conspiracy Writing Contest IV (100 STEEM in prizes)

Many of mankind's greatest technologies started as tools of liberation, only to be bastardized by one elite social order or another to subjugate the masses.

The printing press once liberated our minds from the dogma of the middle ages, now we have mass media. Capitalism, banks, and the merchant classes once helped remove Western Civilization out from under thumb of the Church and Monarchs, now we have a corporate ruling class and banking cartels that buy and sell our leaders like used cars.

I've always been skeptical over the claim that blockchain is inherently good. Every tool of liberation can sew the seeds of oppression. Tech is tech, it's all in how we use it.

Fiction and cautionary tales allow us to look into the future and anticipate the traps and devices before they use it on us. Think Orwell. Think Huxley. I wish I had the time to commit to this contest, as I think it's the most important conversation to be had here on steemit.

My sincere thanks to @v4vapid for bringing this to the forefront. And to all the contestants, best of luck.

Sort:  

I think I should have asked you to write my intro, well said!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85