Blockchain Walk #2

in #blockchainwalk5 years ago (edited)

         About two months ago, I wrote my first post in my Blockchain Walk series. To summarize, it is my version of the #walkwithme posts you see around here. Since I am too lazy to walk around in the winter wonderland, I decided to sit in front of my computer.

         In doing so, I am able to show you around the blockchain, and some of the oddities I come across. In a way, it is similar to the Abuse Series, where I write about the strange behaviors of Steem's denizens. The difference, then, is Blockchain Walk will attempt to be more humorous than the other.

         Anyways, let us check out what is going on in our beloved blockchain.

1. A New Whale in Town

ben1.png

         Recently, @ben decided to power up two million Steem. That is right, 2,000,000. He (I assume) left a memo explaining his motives. Needless to say, he had received several memos and replies to his three-year old comment since.

         I found @exyle's direct approach somewhat comical. If I were @ben and had never heard of the witness before, the memo could have been seen as unsolicited haggling. I mean, who the heck comes out of nowhere and asks not only for a witness vote, but asks to be the proxy?

         Imagine someone came up to you and said, "hey, would you like to push my agenda? You heard me right, MY agenda." Regardless, it seemed impersonal to me, but stake is what matters in the end.

ben2.png

         I am curious about why the new whale chose to power up almost all the Steem if he planned on selling them? Would it not have been easier to power up what he did not want to sell, and leave the "to sell" liquid? I cannot find a rationale at this moment, but it is also none of my business. Props to him for putting 90% of his net worth in Steem. The man lives dangerously.

ben3.png

2. A Sad Plea

         Some witnesses ask for votes. That is a fact, and there is usually nothing wrong with such practice. One of them caught my attention. It was also somewhat amusing; in an almost pathetic way.

imadev1.png

         Again, if I have never heard of @thecryptodrive before, the memo would have left me in confusion. Take out the names from the picture for a moment. Does the sender seemed like a winner to you? I think the witness could have used a better PR approach.

         It sounded almost as if he was saying "I have fallen out of favor with the stakeholders, please help!" Well, that does not matter now. It looks like it worked out for him in the end. I suppose he regained some confidence and sense of purpose since.

imadev2.png

3. Recoup Those Losses

         Looks like @trevon is at it again. The Back Scratcher will itch your back and more! Why interact when you can receive upvotes and cash out? No power ups needed!

         If you want a circlejerk for the people, by the people, this is the place to be. The only catch this time is to use @share2steem as the medium to express yourself.

trevon.png

         How about it? How long do you think Share 2 Steem will become Spam 2 Steem if it is not already? As people start to think Trevon's crypto forecasts are rather funny, shady stuff comes out.

         What prompted this round of vote for vote? I bet it has nothing to do with the fact that @steemcleaners wrecked his little vote farm on @lordgod.

trevon2.png

         It is only a coincidence that the said God account is one of the largest backers of the Back Scratcher. Nothing is new under the sun I suppose. Here we are, wondering why people find Steem unattractive when stuff like this exists.

         On a side note, several bot owners thought it was pathetic. I can neither confirm nor deny if that specific account's vote buying privileges are gone.


         That is it for this time! This is our beloved blockchain. Filled with wonders and peculiarities.

         It makes you wonder if this place would have been better if everyone stopped treating it as a second job? Too many view their pending payouts here as "income" rather than "bonus" for having a hobby. It is funny because everyone all the sudden became professional content creators.

         I am already tired from working a full-time job, and I only work every other week! I do not want to treat social media as a second full-time grind. You cannot be having a good time here if all you think about is how to maximize your Steem output. We are talking about rates below minimum wage.

         If you are lacking money, I would suggest you to take an extra shift, if possible. You will earn far more than grinding your 10-20% gain from 100 Steem every seven days. Yes, the price fluctuates and it could worth more.

         Yes, it means more to people in poorer countries. But let us remember that it is not always so easy to convert the Steem back into usable currencies.

Adieu now!


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

left him a comment, we will see how it goes.

Hahaha! Let me know if he responds.

Hello @enforce48.

It impresses me how you follow the threads trying to understand those things that many times go unnoticed.

"... Does the sender seem like a winner to you? I think the witness could have used a better PR approach."

Totally agree.
A good campaign to stimulate the exchange of ideas with inclusive approaches is the best strategy. This way you can obtain a true support and commitment that will not disappear in time. All this without mentioning that you would not give that image of despair.

"... If you want a circlejerk for the people, by the people, this is the place to be.The only catch this time is to use @ share2steem as the medium to express yourself."

Too impersonal.
I have always supported the "introduce and return". Although it seems somewhat less important, it allows us to have an idea of ​​who you are and where you are going, what are your horizons in the community.

Thank you for taking the time to make these connections and connect the ends to give us a more real vision of what happens in our steemit blockchain.

All best, Piotr.

Thank you for taking the time to respond!

The blockchain is like an open book. Sometimes, you find some oddities as you traverse through it.

And yeah...let's never talk about the back scratcher thing again. I'm somewhat disgusted by it.

Dear @enforcer48

Thank you for your previous comment. And Im also sorry for such a late reply. I wonder if you even will read my comment ...

ps.
I NEED YOUR HELP :) Nothing serious really. But I still hope you can spare few minutes of your time :)

I found out about great contest where winning community can receive a year's delegation worth of 20k SP!

I realized that receiving such a delegation could help greatly to grow our community. After all I'm upvoting each valuable comment. On top of that, I'm doing my best to promote quality content published by other authors and again: I like to reward those who engage with those authors.

I know that it's probably a long shot and most likely our community won't stand a chance in this contest. But I love being the underdog! Let's give them a fair fight :)

Which brings me to my next question, I was wondering if I could count on your support? At this stage I would only need to ask you to comment this post and suggest myself for the contest. Perhaps you could also make another suggestion: @ help.venezuela (this is run by my dear friend @ achim03).

https://steemit.com/dpoll/@theycallmedan/20k-steem-delegation-poll

This is just a first round attempt. I hope we can make it to second round hahha :) Naturally I would appreciate if you could ask your friends to help with our little "quest" :)

Let me know what you think? Perhaps you can also share some advises and hopefully we can "do little bit of brainstorming". Would be awesome to win :)

Yours
Piotr

There seems to be several projects involved with helping the needy in Venezuela. I'm not familiar with them.

I generally abstain from suggestions or votes of that nature because I am not part of those communities. I've participated in the final round of Dan's 10K delegation poll, and boy, that was a bit tough.

If I were him, I would have given all the finalists something.

Interesting times and interesting people. Not often enough the good kind of interesting though.. :\ Always appreciate reading your posts and how you have a thick enough skin to stick up for what you believe in and what you think is right and wrong or questionable. Cheers.

In this case, they are meant with light humor.

Thanks man!

:) Understood. You definitely have a way with words and there's an art to it in my opinion to tread that fine line. And you're welcome.

That backscratcher is seriously awful... :') Fun series to read!

It won't be the last time we see something like it.

Glad you found this piece amusing.

Indeed. I flagged the post with a whopping 10 cents, but what can you do.

It was amusing, looking forward to your next 'discoveries' :-)

Maybe I could have worded it better, lol. But he's my favourite mystery.

Wrote about it here 10 months ago.

I'm glad you found it funny. I was chuckling when I read it.

Thanks for the link. Definitely put it more in context.

@exyle spawned out of nowhere asking for a witness vote and proxy xD Did he get the vote at least? Or was it not effective?

Damn, this got me thinking, sorry exyle, but I had to do it ahah... I'm just kidding!

Sem título.png

You cannot be having a good time here if all you think about is how to maximize your Steem output. We are talking about rates below minimum wage.

We are so deep in the bear market that most people that are still doing Steem are here for the long-term, they want to get more STEEM while the rewards are like they are now, before the next bubble. Most people that are doing this as a second job don't think in terms of "how much money am I making?" but "how much crypto am I making". They are already thinking of the next bubble!

I still remember back in January there were whales taking thousands of $ each month just from STEEM...

In the end, the most important thing is to do this as a hobby, and have fun while doing it, take the payouts as "extra money" and not as "income"...

Haha well, sometimes all it takes is asking.

I do agree that if more people treat it as extra instead of a source of income, we may have a better atmosphere.

Haver another happy year, !BEER

Congratulations @enforcer48! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Leonis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


Hey @enforcer48, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76