PlayStation 5 powered by blockchain?

in #blockhain6 years ago (edited)

There really isn't much information or even a complete conformation for the PS5 integrating blockchain tech however it is a really interesting idea that I would love to see happen. It has been said that a blockchain could power PlayStation DRM (Digital Rights Management) which means that all purchases via PlayStation will run on a blockchain. They have also said that this will include replacing any in game tokens such as fifa points.

I really hope this is a change that Sony do push because it brings two of my favorite areas together gaming and crypto, it also just brings another method of introducing blockchains to more people. Also for the actual functionality of the console I would hope this change would make a big difference because currently it can be frustrating to put money onto your console and then split it between the different in game methods of pay on different games, this will allow you to purchase a coin/token, however they do it, and use that for purchases across the board.

A change like this could also go a long way toward increasing privacy and security for the console as we have seen in the past people constantly attempting to hack consoles, taking money and releasing personal info so any changes in the privacy and security area is great news.

Problems faced:

I would hope that this change would also stop prices of things like loot boxes and crates from differing so much, however to get many companies to agree with something like this will probably be a huge task so there is a lot in the way of this change happening, so I'm trying not to get too excited yet.

With such a large change like this and the current amount of people switching over to digital purchases there are questions asking if the PS5 will have a disk tray at all, which has its upsides and its downsides. For one if they do use a blockchain for all DRM then this change would force anyone that owns a PS5 to use its blockchain which again brings more eyes on crypto and shows how it can be integrated into the world around us. However there is also worry that game companies will take away digital trade-ins. But for more information we will likely have to wait for E3 and any announcements that brings.

Overall:

As a whole I think this will be a very interesting idea that we can hopefully witness being developed, I am also excited to see how much a change like this could impact the PlayStation vs Xbox debate that sparks up every time a new console is arriving, personally I think a change like this could boost the PlayStation way above Xbox however there is a lot we still don't know and likely a lot of meetings Sony employees will be dreading.

As we know so little there isn't too much to say other than speculation yet however I wonder how this will even work, if Sony will employ an existing blockchain and coin or will this be a new blockchain with a new coin. Either way I am super excited to see what is to come and if we hear anything big soon I will be sure to stay updated.

I would love to hear what anyone thinks about this change or if anyone has some differing insight, let me know in the comments, upvote if you enjoyed and follow for more.

Sort:  

I would be into it but I always liked the PlayStation going back to the days of the ps1 so I will probably buy it whatever it ends up being lol.

Ye same I have always had a PlayStation from the ps1 and up so even if they don't make this change I will buy it probably just more begrudgingly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97