You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ready for Another Exquisite Corpse?

@blockurator,

I wouldn't miss it for the world.

For those not in the know, Block is a genius of literary corruption ... twisting and contorting genre expectations in a way that leaves one gob-smacked in incredulity.

As non-enticing as that may sound, I would argue that to be a great writer, you must take every opportunity you encounter to exercise your creativity. And I promise you, it will take every ounce of creativity you can muster to dig yourself out of the holes your fellow authors create. :-)

As writers, we often settle into genres in which we become comfortable, and hence, one story ends up sounding a great deal like the next. This leads to stagnation.

In thirty years of writing, in both poetry and prose, these challenges have been the BEST test of creativity I have ever encountered. I participated in both: As the last author in the first challenge, and as the third author in the second.

So, I encourage you to rise to the challenge, prepare for a lot of swearing and cursing and pull out your pen.

Quill

Sort:  

For those not in the know, Block is a genius of literary corruption ... twisting and contorting genre expectations in a way that leaves one gob-smacked in incredulity.

No better compliment has ever been served. Thank you, Squire! I shall elevate you to knighthood. Or maybe a night in the hood.

As non-enticing as that may sound, I would argue that to be a great writer, you must take every opportunity you encounter to exercise your creativity. And I promise you, it will take every ounce of creativity you can muster to dig yourself out of the holes your fellow authors create. :-)

Here here. The more you exercise it, the better you get at wielding it. And I'm not talking about swordplay my fellow Steemians. Or am I?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85