Hiking on St-Bruno MountainsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

Last Friday I went hiking on Mont St-Bruno, a little mountain about 15 kilometers south of Montreal, in order to appreciate autumn's beauty. It was a relaxing meditative experience, being surrounded by the singing of birds, the crackling sounds of fallen leaves being walked on by busy squirrels preparing for winter, the warm and strangely pleasant smell of decaying vegetation, weird mushrooms popping-up everywhere. The temperature was nice, about 8°C, which is perfect for hiking. Because it was a weekday and I went in the steeper longer trail, I saw very few humans all day, which is nice.

Of course I used this opportunity to take lots of pictures. Here's a few of them.

Untitled_HDR2.png

A peaceful lake, sat there on a rock for about an hour, eating, having tea, and then just observing the leaves falling in the water while breathing fresh autumn air.

DSC08012.jpg

DSC08001.jpg

DSC08004.jpg
I bought a polarizing filter recently, I wish I had bought one sooner, its effect on water is really cool.

DSC08035.jpg
Weird ducks! I seldom see species of ducks that aren't mallards or geese, so this was an exciting sight. I think they are bufflehead ducks? 0.5 Steem to anyone who can correct me in the comments! Sadly the photo is terrible, my 300mm telephoto lens did not deliver, a longer one would be nice.

DSC07961.jpg
Mushrooms gloriously bursting out of a tree.
DSC07957.jpg

DSC07951.jpg
DSC07952.jpg

DSC08083.jpg
Colourful canopy.

DSC08084.jpg
Having fun swirling around with my fish-eye lens...

DSC08087.jpg
WoooOoOoOOOOooo

DSC08119.jpg
An artificial grotto, built by catholic monks in honour of the grotto where St. Bernadette Soubirous saw apparitions of Mary. The stones were carried without machinery by the monks themselves. It served as a place for prayer and ceremonies.

DSC07963.jpg
The ground. Imagine all the diversity of microorganisms and insects living in there! Death=life.

I hoped to reach a peak with a good view either of Montreal or further nature for golden hour, but did not manage to find such place, as the woods are too dense. Still is was a great day and I'm happy about a couple of these photos.

Camera is a Sony alpha330. Lenses used are: Sony 18-55mm, Minolta 75-300mm, Tamron 9mm fish-eye.

Thanks for reading.
-a0i

Sort:  

Delightful story, you realized me that I also need spend some time only with nature, thank you!
Start following you, it seems you are very valuable guy, greeting ❤️

Greetings @karolinabaum :)
Nature is good for the soul! It was the first time I hiked alone, it was especially soothing.
Followed you also, thank you for reading.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you a0i! You've just received an upvote of 37% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Absolutely beautiful photos!!!

Thank you! :)

Posted using Partiko Android


Congratulations @a0i!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

LVLUP!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh . you're from Montreal! We did a For91days there not too long ago. We arrived towards the end of April and we had crazy Snow Storms :) We weren't prepared coming from the Caribbean, heheh!

Hehe yes winter here is wild and sometimes endless...

Thanks for your comment, I'll follow your travels!

Posted using Partiko Android

You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @a0i

We have planted already 6096.91 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19043.98
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by a0i from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91