English, Spanish hotel, speaking English...

in #blog5 years ago

Last year I met a Spanish girl, via your favourite phone application, for a drink at her workplace while she took a break and a quick cigarette. We became friends and have kept in contact since then, and recently she helped me cancel my tax registration for the job that didn't happen by being both my driver, and translator at the tax office.

We've also met a few times for coffee at a bar that has a playground as she has a 6 year old daughter (who is super friendly and well on her way to speaking 4/5 languages). We chat about stuff, so my friend is well up to speed on my employment status, and even offered for me to babysit while she worked at the hotel. This interested me a little as I could learn some Spanish from a 6 year old, and she could improve her English. Or, we just watch cartoons and movies and play on the miniature keyboard, all good :)

Yesterday, my friend text with another offer. There is a temporary opening at her place of work while another employee goes on paternity leave. And so tomorrow morning, I'm going to go and see the manager to find out a bit more about the role which has been described to me as 'easy'. Apparently, they are looking for someone who speaks good English, is educated, and looks presentable. I think I'm in with a shot! Especially as they would supply the clothes, I think all i need to do is shave a little more often, and maybe get some shoes.

The hotel in question caters almost exclusively to British holidaymakers, and sits close to a bar with 'British' in the title. Not stupid these Spanish folk you know :) So I would likely only have to bundle through my shitty Spanish with very few people, perhaps only the other staff as they want keys, room numbers, etc.



source

If you haven't already guessed, the job is (I think!) a receptionist, meet n greet, helping hand type person, which as long as you are not a miserable unsociable dick (which I can be but not too often as long as the sun is shining), should be fairly un-taxing. My friend actually said, 'you can do your blogs while at work', so I'm assuming that hours can pass during the day where there is not much happening.

Eight hours, 5 days a week, for two months, do-able :)

I was looking at the recent reviews for the place and it seems the hotel is in decline, even though it's been refurbished in the past year or so. The owners have apparently decided to make the rooms more open plan by removing the toilet doors - much to the dismay of some visitors who's reviews have been 1 star and included a request to move hotels. No toilet door sounds a bit awkward, even if you are travelling with a partner - late nights, beer, lots of different foods are a potentially dangerous combination, if you know what I mean :)

Anyway, the pool and the food received much better reviews and grub is available for staff during the day. This sounds like another bonus and would mean that I'd be eating something other than tuna, pasta, or eggs! A decent salad, in which you have done none of the prep work, would do nicely.

The hotel is about 10 minutes on the bike from home, 9 of those minutes are along the bike-track on the promenade and as a commute, that's got to be one of the best on offer. I suppose I could walk it, get the step count up, take a few photos of pink tourists, and bring out an actifit post from time to time too. The hours will likely be four pm until midnight, this doesn't sound too bad, and for a couple of months prior to the peak of the summer, totally do-able.

So if this does happen, I'll be feeling a lot more sociable for a little while and might have some funny stories to share - a welcome change from Steem and pies I hear you say!

Plus, I can stop the adhoc power-downs for a little while, that'll be nice.

Alright, take care, enjoy your morning/day/night :)

Asher

Sort:  

Sounds perfect for now, Asher. Did your friend get to you in time for you to not be too late?

And how did it go?

Thanks for asking, yes the timing was no problem in the end (welcome to Spain!).

I think it went well, we stood outside looking at hotel that looks nowhere near ready to open on the 1st May, but if it is, I will be starting then! :D

If the team has its season opening routine down pat, a lot can happen in three short weeks... kinda like politics. ;)

Huge 3-weeks-in-advance Congratzzz, Asher. Your new job is an ideal creation for the next little while on all fronts. Yayyyy!!!!

AWESOME!!! Great news brother. 🤗 im so happy for you. And truthfully it sounds like this girl really cares about you. And she must trust you to let you watch her kiddo....hmmm....you even seem vert upbeat about her.....just saying.😁😁😁😁
I love ya bro.

Thank you! :D

Friends works for me, but yes it was very nice of her to suggest that I could babysit - that made me feel really good actually.

My daughter just turned 13 and I saw her a lot when she was 6/7 - a good age I think for laughs and learning :)

Hi @abh12345!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.910 which ranks you at #100 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

.

The pies are not so popular since I started to 'charge' for them with a token I gave them for free 😂

Thanks! Will see how today goes - my friend is late, which makes me late!

Sounds magic, bit of cash, bit of social life'ing, bit of steeming whilst being paid for it. Top notch!

Yep :) Just a few months but something to keep me out of trouble before the summer kicks off fully!

btw b00m, I tried not to talk about Steem even though I have 2/3 posts relating to Steem in mind!

Hahaha, steem steem steem!!

Talk away!! :0p

it will be Easy for sure for you man!
Do you have to speak in spanish or catalan as well?

It's a good question :) Most of the locals will be aware that Mallorquin is off the table for non-locals and at least go with Spanish.

I'm hoping I'll need just numbers, keys, room, towels, and you know, hotel type vocab!

Removing the toilet door seems to be pushing things a bit too far. In Taiwan I've seen quite a lot of hotel bathrooms with a window looking into the room, and some even have the blinds on the room side and not the bathroom side!

Strange times we live in!

I think a door is pretty important and a window, that is on an exterior wall would be nice too :D

Should we call you Manuel from now on?
'I know nooooothing, Mr Fawlty, I am from Barfffelona', hahaha.

Call me anything you like, just keep that tip-box nice and full :)

It could be a strange situation where I understand the customers more than my work colleagues. This should be OK though as the customer is always right, and Manuel certainly is not!

Sounds like a good offer to me. Fingers crossed and good luck man.

Thanks man!

Ok interesting....... I met a Spanish girl, via YOUR favourite phone application... thats really honest !
And the missing toilet door is interesting cause i am the toilet role girl remember. So all in all an great read Made me smile so Britt nr5 says good luck on the interview,
Keep us posted 😬

haha, OK 'MY' :D

Yeah the reviews were not nice about the missing doors - everyone needs a bit of privacy sometimes!

Thank you, I will :D

I didn’t want to say anything about the toilet doors 🚪. That must be a new Europien fad.
Door , exhaust fan , Brush and can of air freshener you would thing thats a must.

Good luck with the intereview @abh12345. I hope you get it. It sounds perfect for a couple of months.

No way would I want to stay somewhere with open plan toilets. 😱 Even if I was on my own it's not the prettiest sight is it?

Thank you :) Yes, a decent stop-gap. Maybe the UN job will appear when this one ends? :D

If the room is all yours then who cares if it has a door or not, but when you have to share, it just makes no sense!

I like to make my room a mini home away from home when I'm away so I would care. Who wants to feel like they're sleeping in a toilet. 😂

hmm, fair enough. Easy to access in a hurry though :D

Well yes. Good point. That could be handy! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98