You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you ready to be an expat? Am I ready to be one?

in #blog5 years ago

I know a lot of expats, even some SAR ones. As for the lifers, at what point do expats stop being expats and start just being migrants? Obviously citizenship would be a good measure, but let's say dual citizenship is not possible in your new country and you are reluctant to give up your native one. I used to think it was based on links to your home country, but the longer you stay the weirder using the word home country for a place that is no longer home feels.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@abitcoinsceptic good point. I have moved a lot and lived out of our country in a neighboring one so i wasn't really an expat. Now I'm still close and technically Mauritius is part of the sadec countries which falls under Africa. I see Mauritius as Africa on an island as it shares many of the same problems and issues and the signs of neglect is everywhere. People here are just much more passive and less aggressive than back home so at least I don't lie awake worrying about the safety of my family which is a very real thing in South Africa. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97