Drawing/Sharpie Illustration- Start to Finish

in #blog6 years ago

Hello lovelies !! Hope this finds you well!!
My brother got me a beautiful journal for the holidays, and I have been deliberating what to put in it.Well ,today I was inspired to start a quick pencil sketch of a gorgeous gymnast /yogi/ dancer <3

The entire process took me about an hour:)

I started out by laying the basic design out in pencil .

version1.jpg

I used a spirograph to get the mandala design. I initially did this in pencil to see how it would look, but had to re-do the whole thing in pen later.

Next, I inked in the main lines, and began to "finalize" some of the lines with a sharpie fine point permanant marker.I also started playing with different geometric designs / background at this point, toying with several choices before choosing mostly circles.

Next I cleaned up all the old pencil lines, and finalized all lines with the sharpie fine point marker, crisping up the page before moving forward.

Snapchat-657877652.jpg

After that, I began to accentuate the lines and bold them out a little more, while adding in more dimension to the background and extending out the overall shape and flow surrounding the figure <3

Snapchat-409527350.jpg
Still with the fine tip sharpie, I go in and add even more background .This became super meditative and calming for me , and I just love how it came out looking.

The last step was to take a King Size sharpie and draw a bold outline around the entire image .I used a kindof bubbly look to accentuate all the circles <3

Snapchat-1337494622.jpg
At this point, I adjusted a few small things with a black marker (faber-castell) , just boldening out the dancer again, making sure that she doesn't get lost in everything else going on.

Here is the finished project!!! I kinda like the sharp black and white, so I decided not to color this one. 0130181748.jpg
Snapchat-1708999394.jpg
If you enjoyed this blog, leave me a comment and a like for more art blogs <3 I am hoping to get back into sketching regularly and honing my skills back in, I am definitely a little rusty!!

Thank you SOOO much for all your support!!
0130181001.jpg
0130181748.jpgSO MUCH LOVE!!!
Evening Star

Sort:  

Hello @arshi, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56