Whose shoes are you wearing?

in #blog6 years ago

What!! How would that apply to blogging? How do you involve people, to participate in your blogs?

As the saying goes: 

“Put yourself in other people’s shoes!”

If you had to `walk a mile in their shoes’ you may start to understand their problems, needs and desires. What turns them on and what they don’t like to see read or hear about. 

Getting to know your `customers’:

How do you get to know people? Do you just look at them and hope they will talk to you? How do you make friends? 

  • First take more interest in other people and what they do. Watch their behaviour and speech patterns.  
  • Find out what interests them most. What are their hobbies, skills and talents?
  • Do you also like doing those things?  Things that you both can relate to, and could build a friendship on? 
  • Friends support and help one another. So there must be a beneficial factor in your blogs, to help others too. 

How much research do you do before setting up your own website? 

What size shoes are you wearing?

Once you know what people like most on the internet: 

  1. Could any of your skills and talents fit in with that? And be used to help others?  
  2. Consider how this can be done. Draw up a plan of action, so you can `walk-the-talk’. 

When your `shoes’ fit the bill, their needs, you have a foundation to build on. 

How smart looking are your shoes?

  • Are your `shoes’ stylish and sensational? How dramatic is your opening image to you blog? 
  • Is there enough impact, for people to stop and take another look? 
  • How dynamic and impressive are your titles and sub-headlines of your blogs? 
  • Would people want to buy `shoes’ just like yours? That is, buy into what you are saying, doing and selling. 

How often do you wear your shoes?

How often do you post your blogs? Are you coping? What can you manage? One blog a day, three a week, one a week? The more you do, the more you trend, and in the case of Steemit, the more you earn. 

How far can you spread yourself? 

For me, I post three times a week. Why? Quality means a lot to me. I like time to do research, think up and groom my blogs. 

And because I’m an artist, I need time to paint pictures. Some of the paintings I use within my Steemit blogs. Oil paintings take longer to dry (between layers) than watercolours. Also, I have an art website (www.adafagan.co.za) which also needs my attention. 

So I’m wearing many shoes. 

How many shoes do you wear?

  • If you want to write and post one or more posts a day, you obviously need supporting staff? In that case, hire people who can do what you can’t do or haven’t time for. 
  • How many topics can you think up and write about? Having a life full of experiences, makes you a more interesting person. And the more skills you have, the more you are able to help others. 

Do you change your shoe styles and colours?

For example: Been an artist, I change brushes, to put more expression in my brushstrokes. Contrast of smooth blended areas and textured areas, gives paintings emotional impact. 

In writing your blog content, you use different speech patterns and jargon terms, to get people’s attention and increase their interest. 

So what is the style of your shoes? With each outfit you wear it’s like setting a fashion trend. So people wonder what `outfit’ you’re going to wear next!  

You may wonder:

Why describe how to blog using `shoes’

  • Often the usual direct approach is too concise and boring. There is no room for reasoning or use imagination to be able to conceive a new concept. 
  • But saying it in different ways; opens up another dimension of thought… somehow it strikes and clicks in one’s mind… and a new concept is born, as a wow-moment. Because we all see, perceive and pick up on things so differently. 
  • If people can relate to it, it’s more likely to touch the heart. Whatever touches the heart will be remembered much longer, than what is generally accepted as an accustomed fact. 

Conclusion: 

So been unique in the way you write your blogs and express yourself, makes them more interesting and effective. 

Sort:  

This is a nice concept for making readers feel like you or connect with you through a blog. It was a nice article @artguru.

So been unique in the way you write your blogs and express yourself, makes them more interesting and effective.

Thanks so much.

You have been following so long, I think you have been walking in my shoes! Hehe!!
Thanks for your support, much appreciated.

At first i thought thid article is all about shoes but after reading the third paragrapgh i get to realized that it is something else.
Great work
Thanks for sharing

Aaah, but the title caught you, hey!
Different way of writing a title, gets people's attention...too.

Great way of explaining :) really like the way you think

Guess one has to think weird , to come up with thought provoking topics.

I enjoyed reading your innovative and encouraging blog @artguru I love your unique painting also. Thank you for sharing your multiple talents to inspire others. You are a wonderful example of how to succeed here in Steemit.

Yes, it's my intention to inspire others. I enjoy you folks so much, just have to share.

Well you certainly succeed @artguru with your intention to inspire others. I will return often for fresh inspiration. Thank you.

Hey @artguru, thank you for the tips! Your analogy is something my mom would say, and that makes me smile. I am wanting to hone in on my writing skills, and how I market on Steemit. Walking a mile in another's shoes is a good place to start!

Maybe your mom and I are of the same age! But then again, I was born with an old soul! Hehe.

This is useful, thank you, I wish you all the best!

Very interesting and unique approach. I would like to add a fourth reason why you described how to blog using 'shoes': you're an artist! ^_^

I also post three times a week and walk in three pairs of shoes almost every day: Steemit, Freelance Business Plan Writing, Argentinian Tango.

Cheers! : )

Gosh, I didn't even mention housework, washing, sewing, shopping, etc to my list of daily activities! And do you know why, because I'm a woman, we have to be master of many trades! Us woman wear many shoes, and hats too.

good, its very interesting

Hello @artguru, thanks for lightening our way with this post. By the way I like your name.

Great job..you explained in very great manner...first when i read headline i thought it was about shoe but when i read the post i knew its something else...really nyc

But my sub-title gave the game away, didn't it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66