When not to have a fire, You live and learn. :D

in #blog5 years ago

Sometimes in life you have to show that you are the bigger man and today proved it.

For the past couple of days, today excluded I have been having several fires to clear the remaining waste on my bit of land.

Who ever lived in my house before me was a builder and they had left enough items to build a house many time over under the surface of the mud I was digging up.

I invested in a tiller, this is a small machine just like a rotavator that turns the soil over, it is self driven just by pulling on a handle.

the 4 blades attached make the job so much easier than using a fork to turn the soil over, and the more times you go over the soil the finer it becomes.

The idea behind rotervating the land is to seed some of it so the kids have somewhere to play, I want to get a slide, swing and maybe even a climbing frame for them, but the land has to be cleared first before the grass is even added to the soil.

Hard at work and every turn of the blades brought something up from under, whether it be a brick, light casing or plaster it was just never ending.

I started to rake the waste up and after several hours at it I had some huge amounts that needed a new home, the problem was there was just too much of it.

I decided what ever could be burned needed burning and lit my fire and started to put things on it that I knew was going to burn.

The fire was going nice and I put some fresh weeds on it just to get rid of them so that I didn't have to deal with them another day, but the unthinkable happened.

The wind changed.

So instead of the smoke blowing into the field across from my house, the smoke decided to go towards the houses on my road, and this wasn't a small amount of smoke either.

But like a good neighbour I decided to add more flammable items to it to get rid, this turned out to be a problem as the smoke got to the point where I couldn't even see my house that was 30 meters from me. oops.

Before I knew it a neighbour came out, walked up to me and asked me how long the fire was going to go on for.

Little did I know it, him and his wife had been sat in their garden drinking and the smoke had waved over there fence and into their house.

He was so pissed off, red faced and angry are the only words I could describe as his abrupt attitude was known from his tone of his voice.

I apologised, what else could I do? I told him the fire would be out soon as there was no more to burn, and he went back to his house still as pissed off as he was when he came out.

I raked the ground around the not so big fire to help it go out, the last thing I wanted to do is piss someone off , then I made my way into the house.

I was a little upset that he was so angry with me so I decided to apologize the next time I saw him.

Earlier today, I saw him and called across, I walked over to him and explained why I had the fire and I was sorry for the wind going in his garden.

He took my apology and even shock my hand as I left to go home, I felt better about the situation as the last thing I have ever wanted to do is piss anyone off where I live as you never know when you will need them in the future.

Today, I didn't have another fire due to the wind blowing the same as yesterday, but I do have some items that need to be burned.

I have also gone around the border with my hoe and freed some of the privets from waste that has been strangling the life out of them for many years, doing this has also brought more waste to be burned too, the only problem I have is I don't want to have another fire and upset anyone again, I will have to think about what I am doing.

@artonmysleeve

Sort:  

Oh no, so sorry. Can you not take the waste to the tip instead of burning it?

It would take maybe 7 to 8 trips to the tip to get rid of it and I have a mpv, 7 seater there was just too much to do it, a skip would cost £129 for a day.
I only had one choice really, I had a neighbour who is a green fingered guy come to help me and he said that he could only see it the same way as me.
I don't like burning things but it sometimes has to happen.

I have been in the garden trying to get it to be a nice place for the kids for the last 4 days now and I just keep finding more and more rubbish.
I dug around the privets and there was more in there than I have ever seen, from taps to plugs to plates to over items that would be worth a fortune now, like I found a drill and that had rusted so bad, but in todays money would be worth 50 quid if it was in mint condition.

Holy cow, what was that previous owner doing? He must have annoyed his neighbors having a trash heap in the yard. 😮

I found out this morning that the guy who has dumped all this lives 3 doors up from me. it turns out that the back of our house was used as a builders yard.
Him and his brother are builders and stored there stuff on the back about ten years ago, they dumped all the crap they had from jobs on the ground so they didn't have to tip it.
When they got a clean up order a lot of the stuff got tipped and other stuff they dug and dumped in the ground.
Then after years of weeds and blackberry bushes growing over the top no one knew what was under it. well until I dug it up.

I was talking to a lady who used to live in my house 20 years ago, and she told me that she had pictures of the garden area when she was here and it was mint.
it wasn't until he moved the mess started to happen.
I have found crisp packets under the ground dated back to 1994 so it shows how long stuff has been here for.

Holy crap!! He should pay to have it carted off! O:

Hi @artonmysleeve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.643 which ranks you at #5234 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 55 places in the last three days (old rank 5289).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #196.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94