[Vegan Challenge] Day 12 - Sweeet

in #blog5 years ago

This is going to be another short, but sweet entry. Yes, it will be a pun starting sentence, but bare with me.

Once again, my temptation has challenged me to fight my urges not to eat something non-vegan. This week my dad is coming to visit me and my wife for the day and to stay over. @htrpka2019 suggested that she should make pineapple fried rice with sweet and sour fried pork. Both delicious (upcoming videos) dishes, but I have to fight the urge to eat them.

So what does this have to do with my dad. Well it reminded me of how I dealt with vegetables (and fruit) when I was kid. And when I mean dealt, I mean I wanted no business dealing with either. Honestly, I have no idea why I never liked fruits as a kid.

I thought I at least liked grapes, apples, or oranges. Perhaps just not as much as I should had liked them. Some would considered fruits as nature's candy, and quite literally it is. It has its own sugars (not sure if healthy) and they are quite sweet to the taste, but they are far healthier than actual candy. Plus, they do not cause teeth to go bad. If I'm wrong please leave a comment, please.

Speaking of sweets and fruits today marked as my first visit to Trader Joe's as neither the three of us ever been to one. We we're just leaving from going to Dave and Buster's (another first for me), and dad wanted to go somewhere else, and I suggested Trader Joe's. I was, not that impressed, it felt like another Fresh Thyme but less of a grocery store and something else that I am failing to find a word for it.

Though I did figured I might find something vegan friendly, and got myself some natural fruit snacks. All three of these bars were made from apples along with another fruit. The ones I picked had apricot, banana, and mango while there was strawberries and I believe another berry. I am thinking blueberry. I did not cared for the apricot, but it was not because of taste but texture. It felt like a hardened fruit sheet snack that kids would eat. The mango and banana felt more like a weird cake texture. All three of these apple snacks we're quite alright.

I do hope everyone enjoying the weekends!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84