3 Things I learned this week #2

in #blog6 years ago

weekly.jpg

Photo credit to Annie Spratt

This week was full of realizations for me. I'm excited about the future and can't wait for what's next.

#1 - Breaks are extremely important.

If you don't give yourself a break yourself, it will come forcefully when you least need it.

The first time this happened for me was back in May of 2017 when I burned out after my exams and fucked myself up mentally for close to 5 months.

I had one of the busiest weeks in a while - 11 meetings in a week and lots of other work to do. Part of this was my fault but some of it was inevitable. I realised that it's important to give myself breaks from work.

Take a break before you become a wreck.

#2 - Organization is key.

I do not understand how people can live without a calendar or a to-do list. I use Google Calendar and Todoist for each of those, respectively and I love it.

For anything larger than the smallest tasks to get done, I need to write it down.

#3 - Say no to things.

I am the kind of person who likes to take on more projects than I can realistically handle, so this week I really realised that I should seriously consider the complexity of projects before saying yes to them.

I realised this when we painted a logo on the AIESEC office wall this week. Originally I wanted to make a sign out of wood and have a led backlight on it, but since neither me or my buddy had enough time to take on that project, we decided to take the easier route and just paint it on the wall instead of making a sign.

Conclusion

These were the three things I realized this week, next post will be up in a week.

Call to Action

What was the most important thing you learned this week?

Featured Post

100 posts on steemit - my thoughts and observations.

Sort:  

It's interesting to learn about other peoples lifestyle. While I completely agree with the first point, I am living the 2nd and the 3rd. Don't get me wrong, I ADMIRE people who make to-do lists and I have always envied them. I love people who organize things very carefully, cross things out that have been done and so on. It's beautiful to watch into someones full calendar or to-do list.
I've tried this many times myself, but I can't keep it up. While I like people who organize, I like not organizing things myself. :D

those are some pretty helpful tips! i myself tried burning myself out from work and it sucks! now im implementing the pomodoro technique to my work so i dont get burned out anymore. :)

That's great to hear!

I hope the Pomodoro technique helps you!

it sure did bro! :) thanks!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by axynos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61979.42
ETH 2916.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63