3 Things I learned this week #3

in #blog6 years ago

weekly-3-cover.jpg

Photo credit to Brooke Lark

#1 - Your body doesn't want everything - listen to it.

I found out last year that I'm lactose intolerant. It was a total surprise for me as I had been consuming dairy products all my life with no noticeable problems. I went to get tested mainly because my mum wanted to check if I had any intolerances to gluten or lactose.

They did the test and a few days later I got the results - I am lactose intolerant.

Last Sunday I thought it would be a great idea to say fuck it and order pizza during our executive board meeting in AIESEC. I had not consumed any dairy for a good month before that, so the results were unexpected. The next day I was unable to do anything, barely getting out of bed to school to write a test and then went to the office to sleep a bit.

I learned from this that I should actually listen to the doctors and not consume lactose if I've been told that I'm lactose intolerant.

I should listen to my body more.

#2 - You need time off to keep going.

I took a day off yesterday - my first proper day off that was not unexpected. I chose to take the day off and I loved every second of it.

So, to reiterate my point from last week - breaks are important. Give your body time to rest.

I've neglected this multiple times in the past and every single time it has come back to bite me in the backend.

It's incredibly important to give yourself breaks before you break yourself.

#3 - Running a team is hard work

I had to host a meeting for 4 people yesterday and I have a newfound respect for people who can do it well. I'll be fair, it was one of the first "real" meetings I've hosted, so I haven't gotten that much practice, but the point still stands.

It's a skill which many people have not developed and I look forward to developing this skill further in my life as it's an important skill to have in life.

Conclusion

This week was a week of learning about myself and about leadership. It was an unsuccessful week for me since I didn't get to do that much work due to missing 2 days recovering from my pizza coma.

Call to Action

What did you learn this week?

Featured post

3 things I learned this week #2

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.05 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I am learning very similar things myself this week! I've been trying to pay attention to the things that my body is telling me as well. I think it is a lesson that I have learned and forgotten many times in my life.

Great post and congratulations on winning the minnowoftheweek contest!

@byn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55