💸 You should work for free.

in #blog6 years ago

cover.jpg

Photo credit to Ian Schneider

Note: Before you scroll past the whole post to write your angry comment, read the whole post, thanks! ❤️

Recently I've started thinking a lot about why I like doing a lot of stuff and why I enjoy working for free a lot of the time. I find myself wanting to work for free more than for pay. Sadly, this isn't exactly sustainable.

Example

One of my biggest inspirations is a designer named Aaron James Draplin. He is also the founder of Field Notes, a memo book company loved by designers everywhere. His story is incredibly interesting so I recommend that you watch his TEDx talks. Talk 1 and Talk 2.

ajd.jpg

Aaron James Draplin at the Draplin Design Co office

One of the things that he has mentioned multiple times is that he doesn't mind working for low amounts and even for free.
However, he doesn't work free for everyone, but just for passion projects. One of the stories he likes to tell is how he designed Cobra Dogs' logo.

Cobra Dogs logo designed by Draplin

Cobra Dogs was using a copyrighted logo for their business and eventually, a lawyer noticed and a lawsuit was started. Cobra Dogs had to change their logo, but they didn't have a big budget. All the "fancier" design agencies would have rejected their request, but Draplin accepted because he felt the need to help a fellow human out.

That logo is still in use years after it was first made. The logo is timeless and will work for many years to come.

pme.jpg

"Pretty Much Everything" Poster by Aaron Draplin featuring the work he has done over the years.
Available for purchase from the DDC site.

Why I like to work for free

Eventually, I realised that I like working for free most of the time because I work on things that I am passionate about. This means that if I do get paid, it's a bonus for me rather than a requirement.

One of the better examples is my work in AIESEC. I love devoting a large part of my time to it because I truly believe in the vision of the organization and I want to help it succeed.

I also sometimes do free work in design for things that I am especially passionate about. Most of my best work comes from the lower paying gigs I've had.

Why you should work for free too

By no means am I saying that you should become the "starving artist" stereotype but I still think that there is value in doing free work.

Passion projects often show your best qualities and if the conditions are right, free projects can be your most creative works. Passion projects also allow you to explore creative areas which you normally wouldn't be able to.

Conclusion

You should work for free sometimes. :)

Call to Action

What was you last passion project and how did it go?

Featured Post

I've run out of ideas - what now?

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by axynos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43